Are vitamins that contain ingredients sourced from soy ok? I am trying you acquire an adult vitamin without the traditional adders like, soy, strarch, yeast, etc... Up until this point I have been using gummies as it was all I could find w/o the adders but am looking for something better. Thoughts on specific brands or if ingredients sourced from soy is ok?
asked byBohica (0)
Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!
on August 08, 2013
at 12:54 AM
Why take vitamins? You can nutrition from real whole foods like wild caught fish, pastured eggs, grassfed beef, bone broths, organically grown fruits and veggies. Besides most conventional vitamins like Centrum and One-a-Day do contain GMO fillers like soy, corn and wheat/gluten. IT's best just to avoid them if you cannot find organic certified filler and allergen free supplements. NOW and Source Naturals brands make natural supplements. Check those two big name brands out.
on August 08, 2013
at 03:11 AM
I'm not at home so I can't check, but as I recall Trader Joe's vitamin supplements do not have any additives. And last time I was at my regular drug store (a CVS), there was an entire aisle of supplements which, when I looked at labels, had no soy, gluten, yeast, etc. But, they didn't guarantee GMO-free, if that's a concern.
I would actually agree with Giovanni above: if you can't find a supplement that meets your criteria, avoid them and actively try to get enough of the nutrient through diet.In response to Kevin: the study simply "crunched numbers" for four conventional diet plans, and I thought the general consensus was that paleo is neither (a) a diet plan and (b) conventional? Bone broth and organ meats will provide a lot of nutrition that none of the conventional diet plans consider.
But let's not turn this into a supplement-or-not debate, and instead just help the OP find a satisfactory supplement brand.