3

votes

Gluten-Free L-Glutamine

Answered on August 19, 2014
Created October 08, 2011 at 6:52 AM

Assuming there are more than a few Celiac Paleos out there:

I have been using coconut butter and making great strides toward better gut health. I am now wondering if anyone knows of a good, gluten-free source of L-Glutamine. Many companies either do not list or can't guarantee no CC for gluten. There must be a product out there, as I am very sensitive to CC.

Any input appreciated.

60af23519906aa54b742ffc17477c3d3

(1186)

on October 09, 2011
at 07:15 PM

WOW THANKS SO MUCH EVERYONE! I have been searching to no avail.

  • 60af23519906aa54b742ffc17477c3d3

    asked by

    (1186)
  • Views
    6.7K
  • Last Activity
    1282D AGO
Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

6 Answers

3
41dfb1a4fecb38d24075ff52f13ccb28

on October 08, 2011
at 11:28 AM

Iron-Tek Glutamine Powder says on the side of the can:

NO: Yeast, corn, wheat, soy, gluten, milk, salt, sugar, starch, preservatives, artificial color, artificial flavor or artificial sweeteners. Vegetarian.

2
A8b393b931fe0ed4b592a6f965faebcd

(30)

on October 08, 2011
at 02:49 PM

Jarrow powder is 100% L-Glutamine, states it contains no other substances. Has the no wheat, no gluten, no soybean, no dairy, no egg, no fish/shellfish, no peanuts/tree nuts disclaimer. I'd stay away from capsules, they seem to have the fillers.

60af23519906aa54b742ffc17477c3d3

(1186)

on October 09, 2011
at 07:15 PM

WOW THANKS SO MUCH EVERYONE! I have been searching to no avail.

1
Medium avatar

(19469)

on October 08, 2011
at 01:35 PM

I purchased BodyTech brand L-Glutamine powder (powder is always cheaper than pills/capsules and less likely to have extra ingredients due to binders, fillers, etc.) and it lists the ingredients as...

L-Glutamine 4,500mg per tspn, Other Ingredients: None, NO yeast, corn wheat sugar, salt, soy, starch, dairy, citrus, fish, animal derivatives, preservatives, artificial colors or flavors added

1
1a98a40ba8ffdc5aa28d1324d01c6c9f

(20378)

on October 08, 2011
at 07:13 AM

You might call Bluebonnet directly and ask them about this product:

http://www.iherb.com/Bluebonnet-Nutrition-L-Glutamine-500-mg-250-Vcaps/9862?at=0

Or possibly:

http://www.iherb.com/Country-Life-L-Glutamine-Caps-500-mg-100-Veggie-Caps/17402?at=0

or this:

http://www.iherb.com/Jarrow-Formulas-L-Glutamine-750-750-mg-120-Capsules/187?at=0

I would call BlueBonnet First and then Jarrow... All seem to be gluten free.... but ask about CC.

0
312f569b43cfb6e5d003448e96c59dcf

on August 29, 2013
at 10:30 PM

Maltodextrin is just starch I checked my gluten free book.

0
1edb06ded9ccf098a4517ca4a7a34ebc

on May 23, 2012
at 06:49 PM

I had no idea idea glutamine powder could be laced with gluten containing things, and I cannot imagine what those would be. I just stick to the powdered from and have up to 15g a day with no issues. I'll use anything that just says "100% pure pharmaceutical grade free from l-glutamine." I don't use ON glutamine though because their unflavored BCAA powder adds maltodextrin, and I wonder if that means their glutamine might as well. Right now I'm using VPX l-glutamine powder.

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!