8

votes

Best/favorite paleo website/blog in your opinion(other then paleohacks)

Answered on September 12, 2014
Created June 05, 2011 at 1:15 AM

My opinion it would be one of these (not in any order)

1.Paleonu/archevore

2.Whole9

3.Marks daily apple

4.Robb Wolf

5.Protein power

6.Evolvify

7.lowcarbdaily

8.Primal body primal mind

9.Underground Wellness

10.paleodiet.com

Give your best/favorite ones or the ones you find most helpful/truthful/understandable/informative.

67f0456f4134212f2c5d2a714debcf5c

on February 23, 2012
at 10:58 PM

Just checked this out quickly and it's got cool stuff on it.

C4f1a0c70c4e0dea507c2e346c036bbd

on February 18, 2012
at 04:07 AM

Nomnom Paleo http://www.gnolls.org/ pecanbread (not paleo but has great SCD recipes) dessertstalker chris kresser I agree about.

88a3d907cfbe4cb0a23fd5da36161f9b

(614)

on February 18, 2012
at 03:02 AM

Oh I forgot about that one! She is awesome!

A7768b6c6be7f5d6acc76e5efa66464c

on February 17, 2012
at 10:59 PM

I really like the "don't make the perfect the enemy of the good" mentality, as I am a perfectionist. And the dirty secret about us perfectionists is that many of us accomplish very little, because if we can't do it right, we don't do it all...so this whole 80/20, progress-not-perfection meme has become something of a mantra for me.

A7768b6c6be7f5d6acc76e5efa66464c

on February 17, 2012
at 09:14 PM

+1 for Healthy Skeptic--love Chris Kresser, maybe a little too much. I find myself using him as my go-to source all the time, which makes me look like a fanatic. I think he calls his show "Revolution Health Radio" now, or something. I like how he has that sort of Pacific Northwest half-stoned voice, but what he's saying is completely cogent and articulate.

A7768b6c6be7f5d6acc76e5efa66464c

on February 17, 2012
at 09:11 PM

Whenever Robb Wolf uses the word "gig" like "she's doing a metcon gig," or "eating a salmon and sweet potato kind of gig" I want to get involved in a "stabbing my eardrums with an ice pick kind of gig."

39a1a0bc7855c084ac59df60fdf9c0dd

(1505)

on June 06, 2011
at 02:34 PM

+1 for excellent question.

667f6c030b0245d71d8ef50c72b097dc

(15976)

on June 05, 2011
at 12:46 PM

yeah, if you boil it all down and had one choice I'd say just listen to Wolf's podcast. I find it the most straight-forward stuff around. Concise, fun, audible:)

F6ea948ab43dc51d72509c0989e670fe

(1639)

on June 05, 2011
at 03:36 AM

and if I'm not there, definitely 'the healthy skeptic' or archevore.

D67e7b481854b02110d5a5b21d6789b1

(4111)

on June 05, 2011
at 03:23 AM

I like Robb, PHD, Whole Health Source, Hyperlipid and Arechevore when I wanna take a long time to understand something and really geek out. But for pure quick real life "do-ability" its Mark Sisson all the way.

667f6c030b0245d71d8ef50c72b097dc

(15976)

on June 05, 2011
at 02:40 AM

Agree. Eff the blogs, that podcast is the most informative while being fun to listen to.

C3edabc6267abec9b5f8178e5d73552c

(725)

on June 05, 2011
at 02:17 AM

I enjoy robb wolf's podcast, although I want to punch something every time he say ".. and all that jive" or "holy cats."

Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

23 Answers

best answer

14
A089b683ee0498f2b21b7edfa300e405

on June 05, 2011
at 03:04 AM

'The Healthy Skeptic' by Chris Kresser

and

'Perfect health Diet' by Paul Jaminet

definitely deserve a place in that list

A7768b6c6be7f5d6acc76e5efa66464c

on February 17, 2012
at 09:14 PM

+1 for Healthy Skeptic--love Chris Kresser, maybe a little too much. I find myself using him as my go-to source all the time, which makes me look like a fanatic. I think he calls his show "Revolution Health Radio" now, or something. I like how he has that sort of Pacific Northwest half-stoned voice, but what he's saying is completely cogent and articulate.

9
4b61b13ed39e5c5d01fe234900cadcf8

(1138)

on June 05, 2011
at 01:57 AM

My favourite would be Marks Daily Apple. It's what first introduced me to this lifestyle. I love one of his sayings - "don't make perfect the enemy of the good" he gives the facts, and acknowledges that no one is perfect and that's ok, which to me is refreshing amongst paleo/primal bloggers as many tend to sound like religious zealots.

I also love his ability to write articles with just enough scientific detail. Enough that you are well informed without brain overload. He covers all areas of life, not just diet. I love his whole life approach. There are so many factors in a happy healthy life other than diet and he touches on all of them with the science and research to back it up.

D67e7b481854b02110d5a5b21d6789b1

(4111)

on June 05, 2011
at 03:23 AM

I like Robb, PHD, Whole Health Source, Hyperlipid and Arechevore when I wanna take a long time to understand something and really geek out. But for pure quick real life "do-ability" its Mark Sisson all the way.

A7768b6c6be7f5d6acc76e5efa66464c

on February 17, 2012
at 10:59 PM

I really like the "don't make the perfect the enemy of the good" mentality, as I am a perfectionist. And the dirty secret about us perfectionists is that many of us accomplish very little, because if we can't do it right, we don't do it all...so this whole 80/20, progress-not-perfection meme has become something of a mantra for me.

6
A2fe5bbd09c7804fd321e9e9a9f9d199

on June 05, 2011
at 06:22 AM

Mark's Daily Apple is hard to beat. A most excellent combo of very prolific posting and always just dense enough to learn a few things every time. He covers so many topics, and obviously does his homework for each of them. Written at just the right balance. More than any other blog, I can point all kinds of people to any of his posts.

6
F6ea948ab43dc51d72509c0989e670fe

(1639)

on June 05, 2011
at 03:36 AM

Free the animal! Richard is willing to poke fun, have a good time, post pictures of steak, talk about carbs, fructose and all of the "evil stuff" that we shouldn't eat. Sometimes very informative, other times silly, it's probably my favorite site after paleohacks.

F6ea948ab43dc51d72509c0989e670fe

(1639)

on June 05, 2011
at 03:36 AM

and if I'm not there, definitely 'the healthy skeptic' or archevore.

5
40449b985898b088a64660b40f329f0f

(951)

on February 17, 2012
at 08:33 PM

I recently started a new blog called The Paleo Rag that collects all of the latest and highest quality posts from around the internet in one place. The Paleo lifestyle has completed changed my life and I really want to share it with everyone I can through this blog. There is new content everyday so please check it out and please Like us on Facebook! Thanks!

The Paleo Rag

67f0456f4134212f2c5d2a714debcf5c

on February 23, 2012
at 10:58 PM

Just checked this out quickly and it's got cool stuff on it.

5
1a98a40ba8ffdc5aa28d1324d01c6c9f

(20378)

on June 05, 2011
at 06:12 AM

4
Fe29f6658ce67c1ecc4a22e960be7498

(2997)

on June 05, 2011
at 06:55 AM

I have most of the ones mentioned already in my RSS feed list, and glance at them frequently, read articles here and there. Disclaimer, I'm no expert on any of them, but naturally I have instant opinions. I'm not ranking but rather just have some thoughts.

  • Marks Daily Apple has some great info. A little heavy on the scientific explanations - and by that I don't mean science but that it seems a little easy to get concerned about obscure metabolic pathways but lose their context. And, frankly, maybe it works for some of you but I'm getting pretty tired of seeing a shirtless Mark EVERY time I go to his site.

  • Hunter.Gather.Love (huntgatherlove.com) - I really like this. Her interest isn't overtly paleo but clearly has that sentiment. She's more interested in the science of certain issues, and has intelligent and interesting perceptions. The other day I sent off for my genetic testing kit after reading her blog entry on that.

  • Robb Wolf - I can't read or listen to Robb Wolf! I know, I'm missing a lot. And he's smart and has good info. But every time I encounter him I feel like I'm on the Barney Show. Yes, the book was valuable, but there was way too much "ok kids put your thinking cap on because we have hard science coming up. ok - deep breaths now.. ready? etc etc etc nonstop" (I'm paraphrasing wildly). I like a sense of humor, but couldn't he be just a little dryer with it? But I'll try again because in spite of my own reaction I also know he has the goods.

  • Archevore - nice analysis - wish he did more!

3
0266737ea1782946902fd3f8e60fa0b9

(2504)

on February 18, 2012
at 02:18 AM

Love nomnompaleo's recipes, I also enjoy melicious (clothes make the girl).

2
C79a5b43dfc5749200bd9dcaa6bb0858

on February 17, 2012
at 11:18 PM

I'm shocked no one has said The Clothes Make the Girl blog by Melissa Joulwan. She has the best recipes and her writing style is fresh, fun and witty. She is also the author of Wellfed.

The Clothes Make the Girl
http://www.theclothesmakethegirl.com/

88a3d907cfbe4cb0a23fd5da36161f9b

(614)

on February 18, 2012
at 03:02 AM

Oh I forgot about that one! She is awesome!

2
A7768b6c6be7f5d6acc76e5efa66464c

on February 17, 2012
at 11:11 PM

Not strictly a blog, but Angelo Coppola's "Latest in Paleo" podcast (and its predecessor) really sucked me in. I'd known about paleo, and had already been researching and trying it out, but his podcast set the right tone that persuaded me it wasn't all a bunch of dietary zealotry or cultishness. I listened to hour after hour of it during the crucial fist couple of weeks as I was adapting to the radical dietary changes, and it really helped keep me on board.

Through his show, I then discovered many of the other paleo blogs and experts that he covers regularly. I guess he just had the right "voice" to speak to me. That said, I loathe the music he chose to bumper his segments...but that's a small price to pay for his excellent content! And the pho recipe rules!

Also, Latest in Paleo has EXCELLENT production values. Most of the paleo podcasts have perfectly dreadful engineering. For example, another podcast I've enjoyed and learned a lot from is the Balanced Bites podcast. Love those ladies, but wow, absolutely the worst engineering/production of any podcast I've listened to on any topic. But I'm not a "throw the baby out with the bathwater" guy, so I listen anyway, and enjoy it. It's free, and I likely couldn't do it any better myself, so I shouldn't complain!

2
88a3d907cfbe4cb0a23fd5da36161f9b

(614)

on February 17, 2012
at 09:06 PM

PaleOMG, Primal Kitchen, and Hunt Gather Love are my favorites. I like the girls :)

2
100fd85230060e754fc13394eee6d6f1

(18706)

on June 06, 2011
at 09:50 AM

Of those that I like that haven't been mentioned already, EvolutionaryPsy, Hyperlipid, and the somewhat related Ketotic.org stand out to me as particularly informative and cogent writing.

2
F3e312545761ab663e37e6c2d5c831ea

(1049)

on June 06, 2011
at 01:26 AM

I think Everyday Paleo, Latest in Paleo (podcast), Chowstalker/Foodee, Cave Girl Eats, Primal Palate and Fit Bomb/NomNom Paleo should all be listed too.

2
3960d381831b80ad96164f34e2ab6030

on June 05, 2011
at 03:44 AM

I really like www.paleodietlifestyle.com and marks daily apple. But I first got interested in Paleo through the grassfed meat I buy at www.texasgrassfedbeef.com There are a lot of things to read on that site as well.

2
34a367e60db77270bd7096dc04270fdc

(4171)

on June 05, 2011
at 03:33 AM

Mark's Daily Apple is my favorite and a close 2nd is Everydaypaleo.com

2
1ec4e7ca085b7f8d5821529653e1e35a

(5506)

on June 05, 2011
at 02:43 AM

I listen to Robb wolf's podcast every week an I really respect him. I also like whole health source and I like free the animal because Richard isn't afraid to throw in a few f bombs.

667f6c030b0245d71d8ef50c72b097dc

(15976)

on June 05, 2011
at 12:46 PM

yeah, if you boil it all down and had one choice I'd say just listen to Wolf's podcast. I find it the most straight-forward stuff around. Concise, fun, audible:)

1
Ceda025d1f349bc43be115a5f9199fb1

(501)

on February 18, 2012
at 01:04 AM

Whole Health Source is a head above the rest. Perfect Health Diet also great. Hyperlipid in the past had a lot of great content, as well as Archevore/PaNu.

1
C4f1a0c70c4e0dea507c2e346c036bbd

on February 17, 2012
at 11:20 PM

I hope to make that list sometime. But I probably should get better at writing. I will post some favorites up later when I'm less busy.

C4f1a0c70c4e0dea507c2e346c036bbd

on February 18, 2012
at 04:07 AM

Nomnom Paleo http://www.gnolls.org/ pecanbread (not paleo but has great SCD recipes) dessertstalker chris kresser I agree about.

1
8814a76a17662ac145147f5cac8e1068

(108)

on February 17, 2012
at 09:39 PM

Many of the above plus - That Paleo Guy, Primalmeded, Jack Kruse

1
8814a76a17662ac145147f5cac8e1068

(108)

on February 17, 2012
at 09:38 PM

Many of the above plus - That Paleo Guy - Jamie Scott Primalmeded - Anastasia Boulais Jack Kruse

0
Medium avatar

(2923)

on February 18, 2012
at 07:08 AM

Perfect Health Diet for the science, Mark's Daily Apple for a good read, and Nom Nom Paleo for the food (and the food pictures!).

0
77877f762c40637911396daa19b53094

(78467)

on June 06, 2011
at 07:33 AM

Lately I'm reading Whole Health blog a lot. I also pop over to Hunt Gather Love regularly.

Used to read Archevore but no posts so...

-2
9690fe8241cbd940fe4e329db4b067f9

on September 02, 2011
at 04:58 PM

What a good blog I never thought I could get something good like this, actually I???ve increased my knowledge, actually I know my friends will be so happy with this when I sharing it with them.

Viagra Pharmacy

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!