I usually take a very clean organic hemp protein, the only ingredient in it is organic hemp protein, though not the best source of protein often times its the easiest thing to stomach post workout and quick to eat while my IF window is closing in on me fast.
I could not find any on the shelf this week so I went to GNC and found this product:
Yes I understand it is a marketing schemey type product that I should be leery of, but it seemed like the lesser of the whey/soy/lactose/legume protein evils. Except for what I noticed when I got home I noticed it contains carrageenan.
My wife has warned me and disagrees with me taking this stuff solely on the contents of carrageenan. Should I stop taking this immediately? I know I can google "is carrageenan bad" but I trust your opinions much more so.
asked byRuizG (5)
Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!
on September 13, 2013
at 08:10 PM
I have a large container of Protein powder sitting mostly unused. The less processed something is the better I consider it. Although Carrageenan is natural, how is it extracted and processed? I imagine different sources do it differently. I'd rather eat an egg and some nuts then suck down a hemp shake.