0

votes

What to Read AFTER Perfect Health Diet?

Commented on June 06, 2014
Created June 05, 2014 at 6:38 PM

The Perfect Health Diet is one of my favorite books and I am looking for something to compete with it. I wouldn't mind something geared a bit more towards an athletic person. Any suggestions? Not necessarily one of the "Paleo" books because I have this whole Paleo thing down.

I just finished Beyond Training and I was not too impressed. I enjoyed it but it was too much "life-hacking" and selling of products, etc. I prefer books I can learn from. Thank you!

Eb87941a669017dfb288d296cc672130

on June 06, 2014
at 02:26 PM

KK. hang on a sec.

3ce6a0d24be025e2f2af534545bdd1d7

(26217)

on June 06, 2014
at 12:58 PM

I guess it depends on goals. The beneficial adaptations from cardio come from duration (20-40 minutes). So if you lift first and then cannot run that negates the benefit. The adaptations from lifting comes from stressing the anaerobic systems which do not get as depleted from aerobic exercise.

Not saying I agree, just what I saw in the referenced studies.

3ce6a0d24be025e2f2af534545bdd1d7

(26217)

on June 06, 2014
at 12:57 PM

Hey Man, I emailed you, but haven't heard back. Respond and I can get this fixed.

De1095b2ba29c1035f00428cbfe3cc7c

(777)

on June 06, 2014
at 08:27 AM

Big +1 for the Alan Watts! Universal Truth FTW!

3ce6a0d24be025e2f2af534545bdd1d7

(26217)

on June 05, 2014
at 11:57 PM

I guess it depends on goals. The beneficial adaptations from cardio come from duration (20-40 minutes). So if you lift first and then cannot run that negates the benefit. The adaptations from lifting comes from stressing the anaerobic systems which do not get as depleted from aerobic exercise.

Not saying I agree, just what I saw in the referenced studies.

Cb9a270955e2c277a02c4a4b5dad10b5

(10989)

on June 05, 2014
at 09:20 PM

You deserve your points man, and it will be one more person who can close / edit questions.

Eb87941a669017dfb288d296cc672130

on June 05, 2014
at 09:14 PM

I honestly don't mind one way or the other.

Cb9a270955e2c277a02c4a4b5dad10b5

(10989)

on June 05, 2014
at 09:08 PM

Yea, the same thing happened to mscott, me and a few others. If @CDone can't fix it then I can email David tonight when I send him an excel sheet and I'm sure he can fix it for you. He fixed it for me.

3ce6a0d24be025e2f2af534545bdd1d7

(26217)

on June 05, 2014
at 09:02 PM

I can fix that. I'll email you in a bit.

Eb87941a669017dfb288d296cc672130

on June 05, 2014
at 09:01 PM

For fat loss though (most people), doesn't it make most sense to do cardio after weight training when glycogen levels are low and it's easier to access fat for fuel then? That may be brotastic but regardless I think it works.

Eb87941a669017dfb288d296cc672130

on June 05, 2014
at 08:57 PM

I tried to, several times, but I think I forgot my login information (email and password, I think). Probably cause I initially signed up with some bogus email thinking I'd only post just once or twice. How naive.

Cb9a270955e2c277a02c4a4b5dad10b5

(10989)

on June 05, 2014
at 08:41 PM

Lol @cdone, I'm suing you for copyright infringement of the hands down series. You won't get away with this!

3ce6a0d24be025e2f2af534545bdd1d7

(26217)

on June 05, 2014
at 07:56 PM

I thought we got to 10 -- that crazy one about the blood of young boys. Is this a prequel?

3ce6a0d24be025e2f2af534545bdd1d7

(26217)

on June 05, 2014
at 07:55 PM

You are right. FY, why not come back as yourself?

Cb9a270955e2c277a02c4a4b5dad10b5

(10989)

on June 05, 2014
at 07:50 PM

I swear this is you FY, you're wearing the same wristband as in your @foreveryoung profile pic!

Cb9a270955e2c277a02c4a4b5dad10b5

(10989)

on June 05, 2014
at 07:46 PM

Lol, I don't know if you've noticed but I'm at 99 questions asked here on PH. My 100th question is going to be Hands Down 3, probably in a few weeks, it's going to conclude the series and pose the question if a very specific exercise routine is the hands down ultimate hack for optimal health. Also I'm going to add a Chatroom feature to the suggested features list which I'm providing David, I think that would make PH awesome.

3ce6a0d24be025e2f2af534545bdd1d7

(26217)

on June 05, 2014
at 07:28 PM

The book is a review of scientific literature (what little there may be) and interviews with experts on about 100 fitness related topics. "Which comes first" is one of those topics. The author's conclusion for that topic was: If you are a strength-first athlete then weights first, and cardio second -- for most people, cardio first and weight second. Although not doing them on the same day is best.

Cb9a270955e2c277a02c4a4b5dad10b5

(10989)

on June 05, 2014
at 07:27 PM

Now that I think back to it, you can get a solid overview of what the book will be like in his presentation at the 21 convention here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2PdJFbjWHEU . You would probably be fine with the kindle version, I prefer paperbacks though.

Cb9a270955e2c277a02c4a4b5dad10b5

(10989)

on June 05, 2014
at 07:21 PM

What was the conclusion of Which Comes First...?

Cb9a270955e2c277a02c4a4b5dad10b5

(10989)

on June 05, 2014
at 07:14 PM

That being said, I do not agree with the frequency of his recommended workouts. I think more frequent, slightly less intense workouts would be more optimal for most people. He has a medical degree and makes some sound arguments about why muscular contractions are beneficial on a cellular level though, he explains that muscular contractions cause metabolic fitness at a cellular level and how.

Cb9a270955e2c277a02c4a4b5dad10b5

(10989)

on June 05, 2014
at 07:09 PM

I want to start off by saying that I don't agree with all of his conclusions but I think he makes some very valuable points. Namely that the key to metabolic fitness is derived from muscle contractions and that exercise should be at a level that does not induce injury. I also like how he shows the similarities between cardio and weight training. He shows that they are both as good as the quality of the muscle contractions attained during the exercise.

86c97b2779feab3c330f5e1c5fea7e25

(2312)

on June 05, 2014
at 07:07 PM

Also, does it have a lot of charts/graphs? i.e. should I get the hard copy or is kindle fine? I hate reading books with lots of graphs, etc on my kindle.

86c97b2779feab3c330f5e1c5fea7e25

(2312)

on June 05, 2014
at 07:01 PM

Awesome thanks. Why did you like this book?

  • 86c97b2779feab3c330f5e1c5fea7e25

    asked by

    (2312)
  • Views
    1.6K
  • Last Activity
    1507D AGO
Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

4 Answers

0
Cf08ad26759fdd206a2c9f9385080a57

(995)

on June 06, 2014
at 07:46 AM

Alan Watts collection on audio mp3, for during the exercise / workout sesh.

De1095b2ba29c1035f00428cbfe3cc7c

(777)

on June 06, 2014
at 08:27 AM

Big +1 for the Alan Watts! Universal Truth FTW!

0
Eb87941a669017dfb288d296cc672130

on June 05, 2014
at 07:43 PM

I read "The Story of the Human Body: Evolution, Health, and Disease" a while back and learned from it.

That's the only health-type book I've read in the past year so it's all I can recommend.

3ce6a0d24be025e2f2af534545bdd1d7

(26217)

on June 05, 2014
at 09:02 PM

I can fix that. I'll email you in a bit.

Cb9a270955e2c277a02c4a4b5dad10b5

(10989)

on June 05, 2014
at 09:08 PM

Yea, the same thing happened to mscott, me and a few others. If @CDone can't fix it then I can email David tonight when I send him an excel sheet and I'm sure he can fix it for you. He fixed it for me.

Eb87941a669017dfb288d296cc672130

on June 05, 2014
at 08:57 PM

I tried to, several times, but I think I forgot my login information (email and password, I think). Probably cause I initially signed up with some bogus email thinking I'd only post just once or twice. How naive.

Cb9a270955e2c277a02c4a4b5dad10b5

(10989)

on June 05, 2014
at 07:50 PM

I swear this is you FY, you're wearing the same wristband as in your @foreveryoung profile pic!

0
3ce6a0d24be025e2f2af534545bdd1d7

(26217)

on June 05, 2014
at 07:16 PM

right now I am reading The Double Helix and re-reading Abolition of Man -- not exactly exercise related, but interesting none-the-less

Also, recently read Which Comes First, Cardio or Weights, short read, definitely worth it.

Cb9a270955e2c277a02c4a4b5dad10b5

(10989)

on June 05, 2014
at 07:21 PM

What was the conclusion of Which Comes First...?

3ce6a0d24be025e2f2af534545bdd1d7

(26217)

on June 05, 2014
at 11:57 PM

I guess it depends on goals. The beneficial adaptations from cardio come from duration (20-40 minutes). So if you lift first and then cannot run that negates the benefit. The adaptations from lifting comes from stressing the anaerobic systems which do not get as depleted from aerobic exercise.

Not saying I agree, just what I saw in the referenced studies.

0
Cb9a270955e2c277a02c4a4b5dad10b5

(10989)

on June 05, 2014
at 06:57 PM

Because you mentioned a book for an athletic person that isn't necessarily another paleo book I would recommend Body By Science by Doug Mcguff.

86c97b2779feab3c330f5e1c5fea7e25

(2312)

on June 05, 2014
at 07:07 PM

Also, does it have a lot of charts/graphs? i.e. should I get the hard copy or is kindle fine? I hate reading books with lots of graphs, etc on my kindle.

86c97b2779feab3c330f5e1c5fea7e25

(2312)

on June 05, 2014
at 07:01 PM

Awesome thanks. Why did you like this book?

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!