0

votes

Your opinion on paleo baked goods

Answered on August 19, 2014
Created July 28, 2013 at 1:53 PM

Do you have it, and if you do, what do make it with and how often do you have it

374925bd0c30305e4027c25e8815b298

(113)

on July 30, 2013
at 04:05 AM

Psyllium and Gelatin are also cheap and tasteless I believe. I've read that Psyllium gives gluten-free stuff the look and a lot of the texture of the conventional stuff but the shelf-life is crap. Thickener/emulsifier synergy is tricky as combinations of different thickeners can produce results that are greater or lesser than the sum of their parts. I'd google how thickener X interacts with thickener Y if I were you. Also, I hear you on the gum thing. I just had a gasy stomach episode that made me use Tums (ugh) and I think it was the xanthan gum or pectin that did me in.

75d65450b6ff0be7b969fb321f1200ac

(2506)

on July 29, 2013
at 12:16 PM

Although I cannot deal with whey, do the other items help with binding ingredients together so I don't have to use guar gum? Guar gum has good attributes (cheap, no taste) but it's probably not the best thing health wise.

374925bd0c30305e4027c25e8815b298

(113)

on July 29, 2013
at 06:31 AM

If you'd accept hippy-approved instead of "paleo", I hear psyllium, gelatin, Chia/flax seeds, egg (white) powder, and Whey protein are things that can help with baking.

52ad7ee5eef0d7339d0977bd7a2ceb8a

(416)

on July 28, 2013
at 11:20 PM

I'd rather eat the wheat, too.

  • 14b8422e9b449a21e06fa3349953d4f7

    asked by

    (220)
  • Views
    2K
  • Last Activity
    1430D AGO
Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

13 Answers

best answer

3
C45d7e96acd83d3a6f58193dbc140e86

on July 28, 2013
at 02:03 PM

I make some sort of true "baked good" about once every couple weeks. I never use the same recipe, as I enjoy variety if I am going to do it. If you are struggling with non-paleo cravings, I do not suggest making paleo versions, because that could knock you out of the saddle. Something I do make about once a week for a "dessert" is an over ripe banana, egg, tsp honey, tablespoon 100% cocoa powder, microwave for 3 minutes, then top with almond butter.

2
F5a8a14fc6a4d33c2563d0dd3066698a

(714)

on July 29, 2013
at 08:26 PM

In my personal experience I have been better off mostly cutting that stuff out rather than trying to emulate it. Not only does the faux attempt generally taste 'off' compared to the genuine article, it is usually pretty time-consuming to make.

That said, I am also someone who intentionally takes a day a week to not particularly care one way or the other what I eat. Usually on a weekend day when I am out and about. Sometimes I still end up eating paleo anyway, but sometimes I just go nuts and have a couple nitrate-filled hot dogs on buns, with a cookies for dessert, and don't stress about it. Works for me.

I do have one exception to my "no faking" rule: As a breakfast change of pace I frequently make fake pancakes that are pretty much just egg and a little coconut flour. They are tasty in their own right, and are a nice excuse for a little smidgen of high-end maple syrup. Just a teaspoon of that stuff has less sugar than you might think, and it packs its own roster of healthy nutrients.

2
61f9349ad28e3c42d1cec58ba4825a7d

(10490)

on July 28, 2013
at 10:29 PM

I don't eat them, personally. I haven't had any from the store worth eating from a taste perspective (yucko!) and most of the commercial stuff that's gluten-free still has other non-Paleo stuff in it (canola oil is particularly hard to avoid) and if I'm going to eat the canola and crap, I feel like I may as well just eat the wheat. I honestly don't really like baking that much, or missed baked goods that much. When I do occasionally eat a cupcake or what-have-you, I just eat the real gluten-filled thing.

Mostly I just eat stuff that doesn't require any sort of Paleo-ized substitute. When it comes to dessert type things, I generally eat fruit and cream based treats.

52ad7ee5eef0d7339d0977bd7a2ceb8a

(416)

on July 28, 2013
at 11:20 PM

I'd rather eat the wheat, too.

1
5b9a25a1a676397a25579dfad59e1d7b

(2318)

on July 28, 2013
at 11:24 PM

Oxymoron?

I try to avoid anything that is pretending to be something else.

1
52ad7ee5eef0d7339d0977bd7a2ceb8a

on July 28, 2013
at 05:28 PM

Honestly, I'd probably try one. But... no offense to anyone...

I saw recipes on a paleo site for pizza sticks, biscuits and cupcakes. I don't know. Yeah they have 'paleo' certified ingredients but.. it reminds me of veganese and veggie burgers. I'm not too into it.

At least they aren't processed crap like the meat and cheese replacements, although some do use palm oil shortening in baking.

1
32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on July 28, 2013
at 02:12 PM

I'm generally ok with wheat in my own diet, so I don't resort to paleo baking too often. I don't crave baked goods in general, so even "cheats" are infrequent. I have experimented with paleo baking; somethings work and others not.

I've yet to get anything half-way tasty out of coconut flour. Most of it is pretty inedible and a lousy substitute for the real thing.

Almond meal/flour is good stuff, but way too dense in calories. Doesn't have the protein content to get baked good texture right. It's just crumbly.

Almond butter is where it's at for paleo baking. Almond butter + eggs makes a very good bread, pancake, pizza crust, etc...

Potato starch is probably my go-to alternative to wheat flour, mixed with half and half corn masa. Not really paleo, but gluten-free. Great for brownies, cakes, etc... I like the flavor of corn too, gives it a unique (corny) flavor that I particularly enjoy.

0
C0d63e15a4e21b29c49d0380d87894b3

on July 31, 2013
at 08:30 PM

I tend to make a muffin or quick-bread once every two or three weeks. Sure it's replicating "SAD" food, but I'd rather be replicating it than eating it, and since I'm not trying to lose weight or cure any form of health condition through paleo I see no problem with it in my diet and lifestyle.

Personally, I believe it comes down to what your "intent" is with Paleo. If you're looking to lose weight, improve any health concerns, or break ties with an addiction to SAD foods, then yes, paleo baked goods should be avoided. But assuming you're a healthy, active individual, I don't see any problem with a treat or two every now and then. It's all about staying stress free and rocking your quality of life isn't it?

On that note, Civilized Caveman's Banana Bread is hands down the best banana bread I've ever had in my life - my non-paleo friends and family agree. So moist, so bananalicious!

0
Medium avatar

on July 31, 2013
at 03:17 PM

I make them to keep me sane. In a world full of SAD eaters (my fiance and everyone i know), it's hard to keep up the Paleo lifestyle. Would I lose more weight and be healthier if I didn't indulge in Paleo baking? Yes. At this point, is it worth risking my sanity and cortisol to try to kick my dirty little habit, which would probably lead to MUCH bigger and worse cheats? Absolutely not.

A word of caution- It's good to set strict limits on these (for me, I only consume on weekends), otherwise I find myself indulging too much and gaining weight. It's a slippery slope my friend!

0
23fe01308e3320ecf144b47b99a135a4

(149)

on July 31, 2013
at 10:58 AM

Very rarely... like maybe once every few weeks, if that. I think a lot of people go wrong by thinking they pretty much eat paleo desserts every day. Nuts and chocolate and paleo approved sweeteners are meant to be consumed in small amounts, infrequently, in my opinion.

0
23fe01308e3320ecf144b47b99a135a4

(149)

on July 31, 2013
at 10:57 AM

Very rarely... like maybe once every few weeks, if that. I think a lot of people go wrong by thinking they pretty much eat paleo desserts every day. Nuts and chocolate and paleo approved sweeteners are meant to be consumed in small amounts, infrequently, in my opinion.

0
38d059d5d1fa4676cec6c2af4003692a

on July 29, 2013
at 05:34 AM

I like some baking recipes from Elana's Pantry and Detoxinista. Love the raspberry choc chip muffins from latter and walnut banana muffins from the former.

I also enjoy Detoxinista's almond butter freezer fudge. Sarah Fragaso, Everyday Paleo, has some yummy food processed dates rolled in coconut that are really good, I'm looking forward to her new Italian cooking Paleo recipe book.

I make one of these treats once a week.

0
75d65450b6ff0be7b969fb321f1200ac

(2506)

on July 29, 2013
at 12:18 AM

Wow, tough crowd.:)

My great Paleo baking effort involves making muffins with almond flour, coconut flakes, eggs, blueberries, almond milk, guar gum and baking soda. I top the end result with manuka honey. Easy to make, tastes fine. Yeah, guar gum is not Paleo. But without it everything would just crumble. Any Paleo subtitutes for guar gum?

_Lazza

374925bd0c30305e4027c25e8815b298

(113)

on July 29, 2013
at 06:31 AM

If you'd accept hippy-approved instead of "paleo", I hear psyllium, gelatin, Chia/flax seeds, egg (white) powder, and Whey protein are things that can help with baking.

75d65450b6ff0be7b969fb321f1200ac

(2506)

on July 29, 2013
at 12:16 PM

Although I cannot deal with whey, do the other items help with binding ingredients together so I don't have to use guar gum? Guar gum has good attributes (cheap, no taste) but it's probably not the best thing health wise.

374925bd0c30305e4027c25e8815b298

(113)

on July 30, 2013
at 04:05 AM

Psyllium and Gelatin are also cheap and tasteless I believe. I've read that Psyllium gives gluten-free stuff the look and a lot of the texture of the conventional stuff but the shelf-life is crap. Thickener/emulsifier synergy is tricky as combinations of different thickeners can produce results that are greater or lesser than the sum of their parts. I'd google how thickener X interacts with thickener Y if I were you. Also, I hear you on the gum thing. I just had a gasy stomach episode that made me use Tums (ugh) and I think it was the xanthan gum or pectin that did me in.

0
68655ec9711d207d69a63ebf96b37573

on July 28, 2013
at 10:18 PM

I'm against them, to be honest. Some paleo deserts can work quite well (e.g. banana pancakes - which only contain banana and egg - and pumpkin pie with a pecan crust etc)

Most "paleo" approximations of cakes or breads simply do not taste good (especially when made with almond flour), nor do I believe they are healthy. Often they use so much honey, dates or agave nectar that they are very high in sugar too.

Baked goods made with alternative flours that are gluten free (eg. rice, potato, corn, arrowroot, tapico, teff, aramanth, quino...) taste OK but calling them paleo is really inaccurate. I'd much rather eat this and call it a gluten free cheat than eat anything made of almond flour. I made shortbread out of quinoa once, it was quite interesting and reasonably pleasant

(I am still not over the almond flour brownie debacle. One bite and they went in the trash. What a waste of nice ingredients)

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!