3

votes

Opinions on PaleoBread?

Answered on February 13, 2015
Created July 24, 2012 at 5:37 PM

Have you guys seen this new Paleobread stuff you can order (paleobread.com)? It looks pretty solid to me. No funky ingredients or anything in the coconut one. I was about to go order a bunch of the coconut bread one when all of a sudden I felt this tinge of guilt like ordering this somehow goes against our paleo dogma of just eating whole foods. What are your guys' opinions? Would you order it? I mean on one hand it would make eating lunch easier, because I would be able to make sandwiches! But does it contradict our WOE too much?

7e36094a0f7a2fbad24290225405220b

(2064)

on October 23, 2012
at 07:44 PM

Just realised - you are talking about a bought loaf! I made one from a recipe on Fathead blog - almond butter, eggs, baking powder, salt and water. I hated it!

7e36094a0f7a2fbad24290225405220b

(2064)

on October 23, 2012
at 07:41 PM

I didn't even get half way through the almond one!

93eea7754e6e94b6085dbabbb48c0bb7

on September 25, 2012
at 12:23 AM

Haha thanks for making me laugh :)!

93eea7754e6e94b6085dbabbb48c0bb7

on September 25, 2012
at 12:22 AM

Okay thanks for letting me know! If you find a good recipe I'd be interested to hear it too :)!

8634d4988ced45a68e2a79e69cc01835

(1617)

on September 24, 2012
at 03:41 PM

My father-in-law ordered some from somewhere online. Coconut and almond versions. It was dense and...gooey? Like it emitted slime or something. Very damp. Neither one was good. I put butter on some and that didn't make it palatable. It's like "It Starts with Food" book says....sex with your pants on.

93eea7754e6e94b6085dbabbb48c0bb7

on September 08, 2012
at 06:46 PM

I agree. I just wanted to hear public opinion. I barely bake. I prefer Eating raw whole foods as easily as possible.

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on August 27, 2012
at 01:23 AM

None at all, that was the principle behind the paleo bread that Richard Nikoley made. The nut butter is both the flour and the oil.

Medium avatar

(19479)

on August 26, 2012
at 11:51 PM

You didn't put any nut flower into the recipe? I find that almond meal, coconut flour, etc. helps the texture of my "not paleo but better" bread experiments.

Medium avatar

(19479)

on August 26, 2012
at 11:48 PM

Beef wins this one all day. You can always make "grain-free", "gluten-free", "industrial seed oil free" bread easily and more tastily at home. Just don't call it "paleo" ;)

Medium avatar

(19479)

on August 26, 2012
at 11:47 PM

Lol, so true! Whenever I preface a recipe with "paleo" it is typically not very paleo :)

93eea7754e6e94b6085dbabbb48c0bb7

on August 09, 2012
at 11:53 PM

Ewww! I'm sorry that happened. Have you tried the coconut one?

A97b68379a576dfa764a4828304d2efb

(4181)

on August 09, 2012
at 08:04 PM

........Julian?

93eea7754e6e94b6085dbabbb48c0bb7

on July 28, 2012
at 07:58 AM

Let me know what you think when you try it!! Especially the coconut one...I'd be interested to hear an opinion!

93eea7754e6e94b6085dbabbb48c0bb7

on July 25, 2012
at 06:29 AM

Do you use green lettuce or red cabbage? What kind of "sandwiches" do you make? Would you put red meat in it?

4ef079c57d2140bba4dbf4e30240a645

(4413)

on July 24, 2012
at 11:21 PM

you probably know this but just in case you don't - lettuce will hold any sandwich ingredients! I eat "sandwiches" all the time.

61844af1187e745e09bb394cbd28cf23

(11058)

on July 24, 2012
at 10:56 PM

Before eliminating grains, I tried their diabetic friendly bread, don't recall which variety. It had better uses, e.g. door stop, paperweight, trash, etc.

C45d7e96acd83d3a6f58193dbc140e86

on July 24, 2012
at 10:33 PM

Mine is vegetarian human

C45d7e96acd83d3a6f58193dbc140e86

on July 24, 2012
at 10:32 PM

I just finished baking Richard's Paleo fat bread. Tastes great, but didn't hold together quite like he said.

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on July 24, 2012
at 09:48 PM

I'm like a manic depressive - swinging wildly back and forth between unbridled optimism and crushing pessimism. ;)

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on July 24, 2012
at 09:48 PM

I'm like a manic depressive - swinging wildly back and forth between unbridled optimizing and crushing pessimism. ;)

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on July 24, 2012
at 09:47 PM

I could see fudging numbers a gram or two here and there, but halving the fiber and protein, doubling the total carbohydrate? I looked at the numbers on some of their other breads, the reported numbers match some other varieties much more closely than the smartcarb kind.

93eea7754e6e94b6085dbabbb48c0bb7

on July 24, 2012
at 08:42 PM

Thanks for that. I haven't personally tried it yet.

3ce6a0d24be025e2f2af534545bdd1d7

(26217)

on July 24, 2012
at 07:51 PM

at best.... It appears you have a lot more faith in people than I do :)

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on July 24, 2012
at 07:40 PM

That's interesting. Labeling mixup perhaps?

93eea7754e6e94b6085dbabbb48c0bb7

on July 24, 2012
at 06:56 PM

That's another dilemma all on its own!!

3ce6a0d24be025e2f2af534545bdd1d7

(26217)

on July 24, 2012
at 06:47 PM

http://decodedscience.com/nutritional-labeling-fda-oversight-not-what-youd-expect/15446

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on July 24, 2012
at 06:25 PM

What's the evidence that they misled the public? Jimmy's results? Hardly. IIRC, he's not exactly known for having healthy control over his blood sugar.

3ce6a0d24be025e2f2af534545bdd1d7

(26217)

on July 24, 2012
at 06:16 PM

agreed, which is why I said it hasn't been tested. The problem is Julian's bakery has misled the public on both nutritional content and ingredients. I just cannot trust their products

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on July 24, 2012
at 06:16 PM

Richard does get some credit for getting people's attention (including my own).

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on July 24, 2012
at 06:15 PM

I don't think Richard can take all the credit for "paleo fat bread" after all, I've seen recipes around for a while now.

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on July 24, 2012
at 06:14 PM

Call it nut-butter and egg loaf then.

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on July 24, 2012
at 06:13 PM

You can't compare that smartcarb bread to this paleo bread, completely different beast.

5ccb98f6ae42ce87e206cf3f6a86039f

(11581)

on July 24, 2012
at 06:12 PM

Very interesting reads. Highly recommend people read these, especially Jimmy Moore's before buying the bread.

C45d7e96acd83d3a6f58193dbc140e86

on July 24, 2012
at 06:04 PM

and what is your hardcore definition of paleo?

C45d7e96acd83d3a6f58193dbc140e86

on July 24, 2012
at 06:03 PM

Try it and see how it tastes. I wouldn't make it a daily staple item, but not a lot "less paleo" than shopping at a grocery store or playing on the internet.

B61f6513a155cd874b42efdad55312f6

(231)

on July 24, 2012
at 05:56 PM

just check out Freetheanimal's blog, and make it yourself. He even did all the work on a "paleo fat bread" and his most recent revision is incredibly similar to bread. Made with eggs, coconut butter and macadamia butter, plus a few other things.

Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

23 Answers

21
510bdda8988ed0d4b0ec0b738b4edb73

(20888)

on July 24, 2012
at 06:18 PM

My general rule is that if the "food" begins with "paleo-", it's not paleo. I prefer things that don't have any ingredients.

Medium avatar

(19479)

on August 26, 2012
at 11:47 PM

Lol, so true! Whenever I preface a recipe with "paleo" it is typically not very paleo :)

15
1ab7ccb9520dddd0777db88e74ca0bed

on July 24, 2012
at 06:30 PM

$8 per lb and half plus shipping and possibly taxes? I'd rather buy grass-fed beef for the same price.

93eea7754e6e94b6085dbabbb48c0bb7

on July 24, 2012
at 06:56 PM

That's another dilemma all on its own!!

Medium avatar

(19479)

on August 26, 2012
at 11:48 PM

Beef wins this one all day. You can always make "grain-free", "gluten-free", "industrial seed oil free" bread easily and more tastily at home. Just don't call it "paleo" ;)

7
A3a4696c919e916ec971691559e9c942

(2043)

on July 24, 2012
at 05:41 PM

paleobread...my new favorite oxymoron!

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on July 24, 2012
at 06:14 PM

Call it nut-butter and egg loaf then.

C45d7e96acd83d3a6f58193dbc140e86

on July 24, 2012
at 06:04 PM

and what is your hardcore definition of paleo?

C45d7e96acd83d3a6f58193dbc140e86

on July 24, 2012
at 10:33 PM

Mine is vegetarian human

5
24fcc21452ebe39c032be6801d6bbadd

(9812)

on July 24, 2012
at 06:19 PM

I don't like to think of foods through that lens ("dogma" and "our WOE"). I'd just look at how healthy the ingredients are and if they look acceptable give it a try; just don't let it become a regular replacement for healthier foods. If you're concerned it might trigger a bread binge or lead you to eat worse things, you probably shouldn't mess with it. I'm guessing it's probably really pricey so I myself wouldn't order it; if I really want bread, I'll just buy some GF bread from the store or eat some regular bread and prepare for the consequences.

2
32d059a467e99a4fc83201407a4a238d

on September 07, 2012
at 12:41 AM

SO much cheaper -- and, evidently, tastier -- to just make your own.

On a different note, I wish more people would move away from asking "Is it paleo?" and more toward asking, "Is it real food?"

93eea7754e6e94b6085dbabbb48c0bb7

on September 08, 2012
at 06:46 PM

I agree. I just wanted to hear public opinion. I barely bake. I prefer Eating raw whole foods as easily as possible.

2
7b9b5de13a30c823dae64a971cb14add

on July 24, 2012
at 06:59 PM

I'd also like to add that all the Julian Bakery products I've tried before have been absolutely disgusting. The texture is awful and the taste is just... off.

93eea7754e6e94b6085dbabbb48c0bb7

on July 24, 2012
at 08:42 PM

Thanks for that. I haven't personally tried it yet.

61844af1187e745e09bb394cbd28cf23

(11058)

on July 24, 2012
at 10:56 PM

Before eliminating grains, I tried their diabetic friendly bread, don't recall which variety. It had better uses, e.g. door stop, paperweight, trash, etc.

2
3ce6a0d24be025e2f2af534545bdd1d7

(26217)

on July 24, 2012
at 05:50 PM

The smart carb bread didn't hold up to glucose testing -- http://livinlavidalowcarb.com/blog/jimmy-moore%E2%80%99s-n1-experiments-retesting-julian-bakery-smartcarb-breads-alone/11059

I don't know that anyone has done the test with paleo bread yet (although sounds like you might be!)

Mark Sission is undecided -- http://www.marksdailyapple.com/is-it-primal-paleo-bread-braggs-liquid-aminos-psyllium-fiber-and-other-foods-scrutinized/#axzz20stwPaHs

In general, (1) I cannot trust Julian's Bakery, and (2) I see it more as a gateway than anything else.

3ce6a0d24be025e2f2af534545bdd1d7

(26217)

on July 24, 2012
at 06:16 PM

agreed, which is why I said it hasn't been tested. The problem is Julian's bakery has misled the public on both nutritional content and ingredients. I just cannot trust their products

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on July 24, 2012
at 06:13 PM

You can't compare that smartcarb bread to this paleo bread, completely different beast.

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on July 24, 2012
at 09:47 PM

I could see fudging numbers a gram or two here and there, but halving the fiber and protein, doubling the total carbohydrate? I looked at the numbers on some of their other breads, the reported numbers match some other varieties much more closely than the smartcarb kind.

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on July 24, 2012
at 07:40 PM

That's interesting. Labeling mixup perhaps?

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on July 24, 2012
at 06:25 PM

What's the evidence that they misled the public? Jimmy's results? Hardly. IIRC, he's not exactly known for having healthy control over his blood sugar.

3ce6a0d24be025e2f2af534545bdd1d7

(26217)

on July 24, 2012
at 07:51 PM

at best.... It appears you have a lot more faith in people than I do :)

3ce6a0d24be025e2f2af534545bdd1d7

(26217)

on July 24, 2012
at 06:47 PM

http://decodedscience.com/nutritional-labeling-fda-oversight-not-what-youd-expect/15446

5ccb98f6ae42ce87e206cf3f6a86039f

(11581)

on July 24, 2012
at 06:12 PM

Very interesting reads. Highly recommend people read these, especially Jimmy Moore's before buying the bread.

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on July 24, 2012
at 09:48 PM

I'm like a manic depressive - swinging wildly back and forth between unbridled optimizing and crushing pessimism. ;)

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on July 24, 2012
at 09:48 PM

I'm like a manic depressive - swinging wildly back and forth between unbridled optimism and crushing pessimism. ;)

1
84c9f72a6f932b7970987edb38f22d51

on February 13, 2015
at 07:30 PM

 I just got my first pack of coconut paleobread this week and it was DISGUSTING. I've toasted it, had it with butter, made a sandwhich with it, etc. I've never tasted anything so FOUL.

I am NOT a picky eater, and love pretty much any flavor profile, so something has to be pretty terrible for me not to like it. Paleobread was possibly one of the nastiest things I've ever eaten.

The taste is akin to rotten sourdough, a tinge of stevia-like sweetness and large heap of bitterness. There is an unpleasant aftertaste that clings to the mouth afterward too ( I can't put my finger on it, but it's like a 'soapy' flavor). I had to drink lemon water to get that out.

The texture is strange as well too: sort of gummy smushed together bread. This is fine for something like a tradional quickbread, but not for something that's supposed to be a replacement for sandwhich bread. It also crumbles a part at  the outer corners because the inside is so dense. I would even eat gluten bread before I ate paleobread, and Lord knows I hate the texture of gluten free bread!

 I wanted to try a few other things from Julian's but if it taste anywhere near as bad, I 'm going to pass. Has anyone ever tried the paleobread wraps? The ingredients look about the same, so I'm terrified they'll taste like the coconut bread since I'm already traumatized from that experience.

1
8641b9b164388726b5a854b23f61dd37

on February 14, 2013
at 01:09 AM

I am extremely disappointed in Julian Bakery's Paleo Bread. I was all excited about it and ordered two loaves, and it is a chore to get through them. The cost and shipping prevent me from just throwing them away.

Each slice, either toasted, warmed to room temperature or used in a grilled sandwich is akin to chewing cardboard. There is no flavour, the density is just that....DENSE and it's difficult to swallow.

I do love Julian Bakery's Smart Carb #1 and Smart Carb #2 (their cinnamon/raisin bread). The texture is acceptable and both have flavour that work well either toasted or to use in sandwiches. It was because of the Smart Carb breads I thought the Paleo would be good. Massive disappointment - the same for their no carb hot dog buns, hamburger buns and bagels. The zero-carb products need a lot of work in the flavour and texture departments.

1
94a4a87e3d2e1e9160b6ed77678b4bea

(1311)

on October 24, 2012
at 07:09 AM

I think if you want something toast-like now and then go for it! But try the satisfaction of making it yourself. This recipe makes the best toast and toasted sandwhiches of all the home-made "breads" I have tried:

http://www.againstallgrain.com/2012/05/21/grain-free-white-bread-paleo-and-scd/

1
D9bd8ec6d4dc7aa621579630615b92d0

(20)

on October 24, 2012
at 03:13 AM

I'm not following the Paleo diet to become a caveman. Im doing it to eat healthier and feel better. I have to work a full time job and im on the go, so I dont have much time to bake - a decent bread would really help with my lunch choices. I made one loaf from almond meal, it was more like banana bread though. A sandwich type loaf would be great!

1
Ce9282fec52bce272fce3ddbfaf1aab2

on October 23, 2012
at 07:39 PM

I tried a loaf of each. Awful. I tossed the almond before even using half of it. I kept the coconut because it was slightly more tolerable

7e36094a0f7a2fbad24290225405220b

(2064)

on October 23, 2012
at 07:41 PM

I didn't even get half way through the almond one!

7e36094a0f7a2fbad24290225405220b

(2064)

on October 23, 2012
at 07:44 PM

Just realised - you are talking about a bought loaf! I made one from a recipe on Fathead blog - almond butter, eggs, baking powder, salt and water. I hated it!

1
9b1f83ed2c6ae056efdb78b31c63b9bd

(10)

on September 05, 2012
at 02:29 PM

I bought a loaf of the coconut paleo bread at our local health food shop - it was frozen. Thawed out it was absolutely foul - gooey, sticky and tasted like - well, I have a very wide ranging palate and am very open minded about food, but I could NOT stomach it. It tasted absolutely rotten. I also bought their Zero Carb Cinnamon bread which has been raved about in reviews online and it was like eating fiberglass, complete with shard of something crystalline in it. I'll save the ten bucks a loaf (the price at my local store), thanks. Glad to find something other than the rave reviews that I suspect Julian Bakery is planting all over forums.

1
9d805605656a3b6d7dc8293e94d173f1

(100)

on August 09, 2012
at 06:19 PM

I bought the Julian Bread....and it had MOLD on it.

It was the almond bread.

I haven't tried the bread I bought yet.

93eea7754e6e94b6085dbabbb48c0bb7

on August 09, 2012
at 11:53 PM

Ewww! I'm sorry that happened. Have you tried the coconut one?

1
32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on July 24, 2012
at 06:10 PM

I made a loaf of paleo bread on Monday. I only had tahini (which I wasn't eating anyway) on hand, so I subbed that for the nut butter. It's surprisingly good. I've done a grilled cheese sandwich, sunflower butter & honey sandwhich, as well as bruschetta. All turned out pretty darn awesome. I've cubed the rest of the loaf and will be experimenting with bread pudding next.

Tahini certainly isn't optimal from a nutrition sandpoint (way too much omega-6 PUFA), but it's just a proof-of-concept that nut butter + eggs = paleo bread.

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on August 27, 2012
at 01:23 AM

None at all, that was the principle behind the paleo bread that Richard Nikoley made. The nut butter is both the flour and the oil.

Medium avatar

(19479)

on August 26, 2012
at 11:51 PM

You didn't put any nut flower into the recipe? I find that almond meal, coconut flour, etc. helps the texture of my "not paleo but better" bread experiments.

0
4856eae0511e116135bba0acc3e42ce5

on June 09, 2013
at 10:56 PM

i think making grain free bread every once in a while makes it easier to eat clean. if it looks good to you, i'd go for it. i have a banana cococonut flour 'bread' that my family is crazy for and it's such a great way to get picky eaters to down some eggs. paleo-bread; i say...why not?!

0
463e09e6e28c4f2591aaca88bf0c3cef

(248)

on June 09, 2013
at 06:42 PM

I think you need to do what you feel is best here. There's nothing wrong with buying "paleobread" and I don't think anyone should feel the need to ask "permission" to buy some :p I have bought "paleo" pasta and crackers in the past. I paid close attention to the ingredients and decided to use them as treats. And actually, I ended up having a hard time finishing them as I found myself favoring whole foods without even thinking about it.

I felt no guilt though - I follow the Paleo diet because it's what works best for me. If I want a Paleo cracker, by golly, I'm going to have a Paleo cracker ;) We are living in the Contemporary Period, not the Paleolithic Period. ;) Why not have the health benefits of "before" and the convenience (if that's important to you) of today?

But, all that being said, I do agree with using lettuce as sandwich "bread". :p

0
Bc33d09afde9349b870d50a8b18e08a3

on September 23, 2012
at 11:34 PM

I ordered four loaves ... 2 almond, 2 coconut. It was terrible. I've never looked forward to something so much and been so disappointed. I'd hoped it would help me with my daughters lunches for school. Tried it right out of the package when it arrived ... Literally spit it out. Froze it hoping to be inspired to use it another way. Toasted some this morning ... Equally as hideous. Don't waste your $$$. It's a joke. Jillian's Bakery won't be making it for long because no one can stomach it. I know that sounds harsh but it's completely true. I'm now researching recipes to make my own.

93eea7754e6e94b6085dbabbb48c0bb7

on September 25, 2012
at 12:22 AM

Okay thanks for letting me know! If you find a good recipe I'd be interested to hear it too :)!

0
Abf8e2dbf1110fcdb88f0b31b943ff5b

on September 06, 2012
at 01:56 PM

Coconut paleo bread is good ONLY IF YOU TOAST IT!!! I wouldn't even try eating it not toasted...toast it two full rounds in toaster, put some butter on it and IT IS GOOD! It's my staple now with eggs and bacon in the morning. They posted the lab findings (or how you call that) and the carb content is true...so I guess they are trying to get some trust back... I wasn't so crazy about almond paleo bread.

I keep trying to bake this coconut one on my own, cuz it's too expensive. So far - no luck. I don't like Richard's fat paleo bread. Too heavy.

0
F5e8ed7025dcdc4cf668a258e0756859

on August 26, 2012
at 11:06 PM

I bought both almond and coconut bread. Both arrived in a lump of gooey dough. I am not the only one. Several people on their facebook said the same thing. I think it has something to do with shipping it in this hot weather. I got a full refund and I am going to try it again when its cooler out. Many people on their facebook say they like the coconut bread better. I think if you want to have a sandwich or piece of toast a few times a week its not going to ruin your whole way of eating. It has to be a way of life that you can live with and if you are too restrictive and even ban items that are acceptable then you are going to be kind of bored and miserable because you never have much variety in your diet. The julian bakery claims to have now fixed the moldy gooey bread problem.

0
04a4f204bc2e589fa30fd31b92944549

(975)

on July 28, 2012
at 07:23 AM

This Julian paleo bread sounds totally awesome! I wasted a whole carton of eggs trying to make a thing like this at home ( plus other expensive ingredients) for a dough that inexplicably didn't bake at all. I felt guilty for the waste of food too. Having sandwiches again will be great because I always am away from home and need something convenient. Also I tried many different recipes for paleo bread and have been very disappointed. None of the health food store breads are acceptable, with my allergies. It is a product I am willing to pay more for. It's mainly aso I'll have somewhere to spread the almond butter anyway :) 100% Healthy ingredients too.

93eea7754e6e94b6085dbabbb48c0bb7

on July 28, 2012
at 07:58 AM

Let me know what you think when you try it!! Especially the coconut one...I'd be interested to hear an opinion!

A97b68379a576dfa764a4828304d2efb

(4181)

on August 09, 2012
at 08:04 PM

........Julian?

-1
Bfd70bb38267fcc2d762063d691fa226

(723)

on June 09, 2013
at 05:40 PM

I have not tried this paleo bread, however, if you are curious, go for it! A lot of people are against paleo-ified baked goods and such. However, just because you are paleo doesn't mean that you always have to eat 100% raw foods. The purpose of paleo is eating and cooking with natural ingredients as opposed to bastardized ingredients like vegetable oils. Paleo also means that you are steering clear of foods that cause digestive problems. If you love to cook or simply like the consistency of bread, go for it! There's no problem with making baked goods out of healthy paleo ingredients!

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!