0

votes

Is chocolate gluten free?

Answered on July 04, 2016
Created June 30, 2016 at 1:17 AM

is chocolate truly gluten free?

  • 0ff12be85dbaf636c686de9d2a9351e5

    asked by

    (0)
  • Views
    539
  • Last Activity
    990D AGO
Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

1 Answers

0
96440612cf0fcf366bf5ad8f776fca84

(19473)

on July 04, 2016
at 03:00 PM

Pure chocolate contains no gluten.  However, some confectioners add various things that may contain gluten.  For example 85% and 90% and 99% Lindt bars contain no gluten.

The flavored bars and truffles that Lindt makes contain a barley malt extract which probably contains gluten.

Read the ingredients and avoid anything that contains gluten.  One sneaky thing to watch out for is maltodextrin which is a sugar made from grain malt, which may or may not contain traces of gluten.

The most dangerous thing would be "Flavor" even if it's natural, because you've no idea what's there.

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!