So how bad would Oat Challah or Matzah be compared to Wheat?

Answered on August 19, 2014
Created March 12, 2013 at 8:17 PM

Oats are one of the few grains that can be used to make the daily blessing over food called the Motzi. Would this be an improvement over say wheat based challah and matzah ( for Passover which is coming up soon) nutritionally?

There are other options such as spelt, teff, millet and rye. I don't remember which has gluten like substances in it though.

Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

4 Answers


on March 12, 2013
at 09:02 PM

I looked into this a year ago and the only kosher-for-Passover matzah was very expensive. I decided it wasn't worth it and just skipped matzah altogether. You can find it here or here. As I recall, the oats are grown in a special field in Scotland, transported to Israel and baked in a gluten-free facility, then shipped here. No wonder it's so expensive! An interesting article discussing this topic appeared in Tablet magazine.



on March 12, 2013
at 08:29 PM

Fairway Market in NYC has gluten free Oat Matzo. For an item required to be eaten, and for people avoiding gluten, it is a good substitute.

Teff is gluten free as well, along with millet, but I havent seen that matzo (not that I look for it). Spelt and Rye have gluten.



on March 13, 2013
at 04:05 AM

Grain is grain, but as i understand it, matzah in particular must be wheat. I take my token taste to do the mitzvah, and that's it. Matzah made with other grain does not fulfill the commandment, as far as I understand ( depending on your level of observance). YMMV.

I must say, otherwise keeping Pesach is MUCH easier if you're paleo!



on March 12, 2013
at 08:20 PM

100% oat or 100% teff are likely the least harmful grains there. However, I have never seen 100% teff bread (most of the Ethiopian restaurants I've gone to mix wheat in with teff to make injera).

Answer Question

Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!