4

votes

Is there gluten in scotch?

Answered on August 19, 2014
Created May 19, 2011 at 6:01 PM

I love me some single malt scotch, which is distilled from barley.

19ff515e8ec02d95e8f2cf68c3ec1373

(1207)

on February 03, 2013
at 08:18 PM

Islay baby, Islay!

698db94d83dee10d6ada8cc0128d45fc

(1048)

on January 13, 2012
at 04:11 PM

Scotch is the only industry in which the use of Gluten is acceptable :)

B1859f696e88d25460a6b8a333412ea3

(837)

on June 16, 2011
at 06:11 AM

Most Scotch is aged in USED American Whiskey Barrels.

9a5e2da94ad63ea3186dfa494e16a8d1

(15833)

on May 20, 2011
at 11:28 AM

There is "sherry cask" Scotch such as Macallan (one of my favorites) which is aged in sherry casks and gets color and flavor from there. But sherry is gluten-free, as is the wood. Tne only possibility would be some kind of glue or paste used to seal the barrel, but that is not common and would only lead to trace amounts in the scotch.

Medium avatar

(5136)

on May 19, 2011
at 10:56 PM

there is SOME potential that a scotch could be aged in a barrel that contains gluten paste, because apparently some barrels used for wine and liquor do, but I don't think it's a pretty prevalent thing, and if you're drinking good scotch (why bother with anything else), then you'll likely be ok. Distillation is essentially heating the alcohol and then it is collected via condensation, so the gluten doesn't come along for the ride.

05055dcbf12c81f1cce777ec365870af

(1791)

on May 19, 2011
at 07:25 PM

but you are still supporting the gluten based agri-business.

91c2e2a35e578e2e79ce7d631b753879

(2081)

on May 19, 2011
at 06:42 PM

Do you know how/why?

Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

4 Answers

best answer

6
5d80aff9563aae9d350e632b20905ec1

(105)

on May 19, 2011
at 07:05 PM

For scotch (or any other distilled spirit), the alcohol boils off and then is re-condensed, thus leaving gluten behind, and making finished product gluten free, even when the source ingredients included gluten.

However, because scotch is made with barley, there is the potential for cross-contamination at the distillery. I've heard stories of some celiacs or people particularly sensitive to gluten having issues with whisky.

I've never had any problems with spirits, including scotch, despite being gluten sensitive. Your mileage may vary, but generally I'd say distilled spirits should be safe.

05055dcbf12c81f1cce777ec365870af

(1791)

on May 19, 2011
at 07:25 PM

but you are still supporting the gluten based agri-business.

698db94d83dee10d6ada8cc0128d45fc

(1048)

on January 13, 2012
at 04:11 PM

Scotch is the only industry in which the use of Gluten is acceptable :)

5
9a5e2da94ad63ea3186dfa494e16a8d1

on May 19, 2011
at 06:34 PM

Good scotch (without any additives or flavorings) should be 100% gluten free, the gluten is removed by the distillation process.

Medium avatar

(5136)

on May 19, 2011
at 10:56 PM

there is SOME potential that a scotch could be aged in a barrel that contains gluten paste, because apparently some barrels used for wine and liquor do, but I don't think it's a pretty prevalent thing, and if you're drinking good scotch (why bother with anything else), then you'll likely be ok. Distillation is essentially heating the alcohol and then it is collected via condensation, so the gluten doesn't come along for the ride.

91c2e2a35e578e2e79ce7d631b753879

(2081)

on May 19, 2011
at 06:42 PM

Do you know how/why?

9a5e2da94ad63ea3186dfa494e16a8d1

(15833)

on May 20, 2011
at 11:28 AM

There is "sherry cask" Scotch such as Macallan (one of my favorites) which is aged in sherry casks and gets color and flavor from there. But sherry is gluten-free, as is the wood. Tne only possibility would be some kind of glue or paste used to seal the barrel, but that is not common and would only lead to trace amounts in the scotch.

B1859f696e88d25460a6b8a333412ea3

(837)

on June 16, 2011
at 06:11 AM

Most Scotch is aged in USED American Whiskey Barrels.

19ff515e8ec02d95e8f2cf68c3ec1373

(1207)

on February 03, 2013
at 08:18 PM

Islay baby, Islay!

0
19ff515e8ec02d95e8f2cf68c3ec1373

(1207)

on February 03, 2013
at 08:18 PM

I'm very gluten intolerant and I have been fine with scotch but a little iffy with bourbon (unless its a corn mash, then I'm fine).

-1
63150ef8f6f5077e0bb3237055a8aee1

on February 03, 2013
at 02:18 PM

But what about the colouring,caramel 150?Only try whisky that does not have colouring added i.e. caramel 150.Just because uou feel alright doesn't mean it is not harming you. Any one tryed sorghum or rice whiskh?Both would should be safe if no colouring or flavouring added that is.

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!