1

votes

Is gluten really distilled out of distilled vinegar

Answered on August 19, 2014
Created April 04, 2013 at 8:25 PM

I seem to find conflicting info about if "plain" vinegar has gluten or not. Many sites claim not to eat salad dressings, ketchup, mustard and hot sauces because they may have distilled vinegar in them. Other sites say that any gluten would be distilled out along the way and that its fine...gluten free. Does anyone know from experience or otherwise? Thanks!

72cf727474b8bf815fdc505e58cadfea

on April 04, 2013
at 10:12 PM

Good god, and here I thought vinegar was still made from grapes. This is fascinating.

  • 8f87879387f2a357db7c33008ff9a04a

    asked by

    (887)
  • Views
    2.8K
  • Last Activity
    1425D AGO
Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

6 Answers

2
800e726cb5dff569fd8edf604c3e2793

on April 04, 2013
at 09:33 PM

Basic cheap vinegar is chemically synthesized from something like hydrocarbon feedstock. No wheat or corn ever comes near, it would be too expensive to involve them.

Having said that, there is a lot of fancy vinegars which do come from natural sources, though usually sugar-based (grapes, apples, etc.). They may also have additives.

However the cheapest vinegar in the supermarket which is sold by the gallon for a couple of bucks of something like that is pretty much guaranteed to be chemically synthesized.

72cf727474b8bf815fdc505e58cadfea

on April 04, 2013
at 10:12 PM

Good god, and here I thought vinegar was still made from grapes. This is fascinating.

1
E36cb992cf0a5eba8b97a359c15f38b3

on April 04, 2013
at 09:07 PM

Even if distilled white vinegar was a problem, which it shouldn't be because of distillation, it is usually made from corn (no gluten). I have never once had an issue with distilled vinegar. Malt vinegar is the only vinegar you should be concerned about, as it's both not distilled and made from a gluten-containing grain. (Some people contest the idea that malt vinegar is unsafe, as it's been fermented quite a bit longer than low-gluten beer, etc.)

The issue I've had with some condiments (ketchup, mustard, etc.) is not the vinegar--it's the other random stuff that's put in for flavor and/or texture. For instance, I have found mustard with wheat starch in it to thicken. Some "flavors" and "spices" also are suspect due to any sort of random additives that are not required to label.

0
32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41747)

on April 05, 2013
at 01:53 AM

Gluten is not volatile, so you cannot distill it. Any gluten in vinegar is from contamination.

0
2a00b9a42e4cb6e489a0e69d20714576

on April 04, 2013
at 09:37 PM

White vinegar is distilled with wheat or corn and it definitley can cause a reaction in people, not to mention it is probably gmo.Even distilled, there is residue. There are many better choices. i.e. coconut vinegar (tastes pretty similar to white and is tasty), apple cider vinegar, organic balsamic vinegar or organic white wine vinegar.

0
D1d9b0d839144b72b5f5dae893a686d3

(602)

on April 04, 2013
at 08:36 PM

I'm no expert, but if the vinegar is made from something that contains gluten, and I don't know if it is or exactly how it is made, I can't imagine much if any would remain in the finished product. Unless you have extreme problems with gluten, I wouldn't worry about it. There are many things you could probably change to optimize your health before this even approached being a concern. Also, some vinegars are made from things like wine or rice, so if you are really that concerned, just use one of those types.

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!