3

votes

Gluten free products/opinions?

Answered on August 19, 2014
Created January 15, 2012 at 6:37 PM

Personally, I am not looking to try and implement any 'gluten free' products into my own diet, however I just fancy getting peoples opinions on these types of products. (gluten free oats, nairns products, tesco free from range etc)

These products are everywhere now in the UK, a few years ago it was very hard to find stuff like this in the mainstream supermarkets. People around me think they are the answer to so much.

To me, they are still processed rubbish that are far from paleo, no matter how free from gluten and other nasties they are. Since going paleo a year ago - everything has improved! everything!

Dieters i know swear by them, some even go as far as saying "these are so good for you" in discussion...

Opinions?

60af23519906aa54b742ffc17477c3d3

(1186)

on January 16, 2012
at 03:53 AM

Generally the "gluten free" stuff I go for is also the "raw vegan" stuff. Crackers made from ground carrot and celery etc. Not an everyday thing, but nice when you want a cracker!

0d0842381492a41b2173a04014aae810

(4875)

on January 16, 2012
at 01:23 AM

One step closer to putting the wheat industry down for a looong nap, if you ask me... though sometimes I want to try to help people that are happily eating their gluten free cookie, proclaiming it to be the ultimate health food. Launching into a full on lecture on WGA antibodies is not socially acceptable in most circles, I've found.

2fdb7a6236b04bdfc3dacaf2bc236515

(528)

on January 15, 2012
at 11:39 PM

I've been saying for months that "gluten free" is the new healthy. While I'm pleased that more and more people are becoming aware of gluten intolerance (eating out is becoming easier), junk is junk. A brownie's never gonna be healthy.

  • 9bc6db67ba5b252a43340e4fba42b16b

    asked by

    (145)
  • Views
    4.1K
  • Last Activity
    1429D AGO
Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

8 Answers

11
96bf58d8c6bd492dc5b8ae46203fe247

(37227)

on January 15, 2012
at 06:47 PM

I have problems with the word "products" for starters. I try not to eat products, although I am sipping coffee as I sit here. I think of products as manufactured food-like items.

Gluten-free, I think, is a great label for people who have problems with gluten and have not yet chosen to adopt ancestral eating. Products are mostly for that type of person as well. I agree that "dieters" will reach for and cling to any label that seems to allow the foods they crave, and that's why I'm not "dieting."

Congrats to you on your year of ancestral eating. Life is good, isn't it?

6
956bcad1d462d433a4e1e22f6e3355d5

(1191)

on January 15, 2012
at 07:31 PM

You've answered your own question pretty well.

  • They are better (than products containing gluten) but still not good.
  • Still processed, still a Frankenfood.

"People around me think they are the answer to so much."

Isn't that great? :) They have to start somewhere. Sooner or later, they might end up here after a search for more answers. I first started seeing sugar as evil. A while later, gluten ended up on the evil-list too. Then fat. Then meat. (Thank conventional wisdom for that. Hooray, almost a vegan). Then a lot of white things. Then.... And eventually I found Paleo/Primal/Ancestral eating. What matters to me is the diet I started with and the lifestyle I ended with.

Anyhow, the only gluten free product I trust is a whole food.

3
Medium avatar

(4878)

on January 16, 2012
at 12:32 AM

Ummm. Yuck. I've stopped trying to replace things and now enjoy exploring "new" things.

3
Ccacf7567273244733bc991af4ac42ed

on January 15, 2012
at 06:49 PM

They are better for you than gluten-expensive foods, and whole grains are better for you than refined grains. But they are still a long way from good for you. Gluten may be the biggest hitter but not the only nasty worth avoiding.

More significantly in my experience is that these tend to represent the kind of food that is antithetical to natural eating patterns. I'm not saying we should hunt and kill our own food, but if you don't know what you're eating and it's ground down to the extent that it takes virtually no effort or time to consume large amounts then you are setting yourself up for a dysfunctional relationship with food. Even Paleo foods can be abused this way, but we can forgive people their intermediary steps. And if we can move everyone to be gluten-free then I would take that as a good day's work!

2
C4f1a0c70c4e0dea507c2e346c036bbd

on January 16, 2012
at 01:24 AM

Either they taste too good (eat to much) or flat out disgusting. They usually have a lot of sugar and questionable ingredients.

0
Df856e9f744f69f22b70ec29fcb0e0e1

on March 02, 2012
at 06:06 PM

Gluten free products...the fda doesn't regulate them really [so i've been told, please correct me if i'm wrong!] so a lot of the way they're processed doesn't necessarily make them healthy. If you're looking for gluten free goodies the best way to go is homemade. check gluten free goddess blog spot and check out some of her food stuff, great meals, interesting recipes.

the gf products in store are usually higher in calories, higher in sugar, some of them are more processed and most use white rice flour, which besides it bein a simple carb also tastes pretty powdery. and since most products have the rice flour as one of the first ingredients, you know that's going to be what the product it mainly made up of! ::gag:: if I see rice flour as one of the first few ingredients I don't even buy it!

0
6bc9f5167e2174f02f9e73c021ed218b

on March 02, 2012
at 11:26 AM

The only 'gluten-free' branded foods I've tried (in the UK) and like, and the closest thing I get to processed these days, are the Nakd bars (http://www.naturalbalancefoods.co.uk/store/nakd-nudie-bars/default.aspx) you can find in supermarkets and health shops - just make sure you're picking up the oat-free varieties. They seem to be cheapest in Sainsburys/Tescos than on their own website for some reason...

Truly yum!

0
F15e0bae42dbf0b8cfc71e62902497b4

on January 17, 2012
at 10:17 AM

honestly 95% of the specialty gluten free products on the market suck. They are expensive, taste terrible and/or have terrible textures AND are terrible for you on top of it. If I want a gluten-free treat I want it to taste amazing.

these are the few products I've liked:

any desserts from Breakaway Bakery in Los Angeles, CA

any of the bread products and especially the bagels from Rising Hearts Bakery (nee Sensitive Baker) in Culver City, CA

the gluten-free chocolate chip cookies from BabycakesNYC

gluten free pizza from Willow Street in San Jose, CA

Udi's gluten free bread

Sofella gluten free baking mix (makes good pancakes)

Schar gluten free pasta

Glutino gluten free pretzels.

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!