0

votes

Gluten free corn vodka ok? Specifically Tito's a brand made in Texas

Answered on August 19, 2014
Created May 30, 2013 at 7:20 PM

Was wondering if because theyve taken the gluten out if it counts as a paleo friendly alcohol. Thanks :)

5583b82f29a6b24264ca4b9836abd925

(261)

on May 31, 2013
at 08:28 PM

That sounds delightful! I'll have to try that soon!

618fc5298c4a96b817c4918c795a875f

(1217)

on May 31, 2013
at 08:24 PM

TITO's!!! I swear I don't own stock in the company. Try it! 1oz on the rocks with a healthy squeeze of lime and a splash of club soda is sugar-free and very refreshing on a summer evening, with very little paleo-guilt involved!

1edb06ded9ccf098a4517ca4a7a34ebc

(14952)

on May 31, 2013
at 05:54 PM

all vodka is gluten free, whether it be distilled from winter wheat like Grey Goose and Absolut, from potatoes like Chopin, or corn from Tito's. Drink whatever you find most enjoyable and therefore need the fewest caloric/chemical mixers to get it down.

Af679502f1e31c0c59c79bd08f324b35

(559)

on May 30, 2013
at 11:55 PM

Couldn't have said it better myself

1edb06ded9ccf098a4517ca4a7a34ebc

(14952)

on May 30, 2013
at 10:11 PM

Grey goose is distilled from wheat, not potatoes, though you're correct that Chopin is. Regardless it doesn't matter because either way it has no carbs or grain "ani-nutrients" or gluten.

Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

7 Answers

5
618fc5298c4a96b817c4918c795a875f

(1217)

on May 30, 2013
at 09:48 PM

The distillation process eliminates the glutens of grains in spirits. My favorite spirit is Rye whiskey - Templeton Rye, Prohibition Era Recipe to be exact! But when I drink vodka, it is Tito's. It is to my taste a cleaner, brighter vodka than Goose or Belvedere, which cost twice as much.

I wonder why you need your drinks to fit into this pre-determined "PALEO" box? If it works for you, you enjoy it in moderation, and you aren't an alcoholic, do you really need someone to tell you if it is PALEO? If we said NO. NOT PALEO. DRINK RAIN WATER INSTEAD. Would you run to find a cistern and start gulping? Paleo is a metaphor through with we enter into a different way of thinking about food and habits, NOT A DOGMA. From what I understand, it is the subtle n=1 experimentation that makes this way of eating uniquely successful. Drink your Titos! If it makes you react in an unexpected way, (ie, other than inebriation and hangover) don't drink it anymore.Don't worry so much about some old idea of what 'paleo' is and enjoy yourself!

Just my opinion...

Af679502f1e31c0c59c79bd08f324b35

(559)

on May 30, 2013
at 11:55 PM

Couldn't have said it better myself

0
2a00b9a42e4cb6e489a0e69d20714576

on May 31, 2013
at 05:07 PM

Ciroc is made with grapes

0
67871ef2326f29da48f1522827fc0f80

(704)

on May 31, 2013
at 04:33 PM

My favorite booze is Jameson's. That's blended whiskey, which of COURSE started with gluten. It's triple-distilled which removes the gluten.

As a Celiac, I'm CRAZY sensitive and I'm fine with it.

I'll give you this warning about vodka: nowadays, they're big on flavoring them. The flavorings in booze is added AFTER distillation. You will be screwed. Stick with your hard liquor that's distilled and no flavors and you're grand.

Prost!

0
5583b82f29a6b24264ca4b9836abd925

(261)

on May 31, 2013
at 03:37 PM

I think you guys have encouraged me to drink Vodka.

618fc5298c4a96b817c4918c795a875f

(1217)

on May 31, 2013
at 08:24 PM

TITO's!!! I swear I don't own stock in the company. Try it! 1oz on the rocks with a healthy squeeze of lime and a splash of club soda is sugar-free and very refreshing on a summer evening, with very little paleo-guilt involved!

5583b82f29a6b24264ca4b9836abd925

(261)

on May 31, 2013
at 08:28 PM

That sounds delightful! I'll have to try that soon!

0
7bf306ada57db47547e9da39a415edf6

(11214)

on May 30, 2013
at 09:23 PM

Any distilled, white spirit ought to have the gluten out of it, even if it was made from wheat. The distillation process involves evaporating out the alcohol and then condensing it again, so the gluten (and other imperfections) tend to stay in the original mash.

Now, in as much we all know we are going to drink alcohol every now and then, Tito's is a pretty good choice, but it ain't paleo. In fact, a lot of us have found ourselves being roughed up by our favorite 'less-bad' drinks. Alcohol is a gut irritant all by itself.

I lost 113lbs and lost much of my ability to drink. It began to tank extremely when I started to work out. Two glasses of wine can make me feel pretty smashed. Indeed, the last time I had any, I just had one. It was more than enough.

0
F291857fa12a0291688ea994343156dc

(720)

on May 30, 2013
at 08:14 PM

from an answer I previously penned....

Drinking isn't Paleo but I suppose one could make the argument for fermented fruit solids? I think you're kidding yourself & splitting hairs about one vodka vs another. I stick with potato vodkas but I know they're "not paleo".

Any booze & fruit juice is definitely NOT Paleo. Stay away from diet sodas as mixers too.

Least "damaging" drinks?

Vodka / soda (plain soda water, no sugar) & a twist. <<< my wife's alternative MD (anti fast carb) suggested this....& only 1 per day maximum for a woman.

Or dry red wine.

check these out for some interesting info about alcohol metabolism

http://graemethomasonline.com/beach-body-or-beer-belly-alcohol-and-your-physique/

and what to drink to minimize the effects

http://www.efficientdrinker.com/

http://www.efficientdrinker.com/beer/

0
Af679502f1e31c0c59c79bd08f324b35

on May 30, 2013
at 07:48 PM

I regularly drink Titos Vodka is it Paleo friendly? I would say yes in comparison to Kettle One which is distilled from wheat. In my opinion the most Paleo friendly Vodka will be made from grapes like Ciroc or Vodka made from potatoes like Chopin or Grey Goose.

1edb06ded9ccf098a4517ca4a7a34ebc

(14952)

on May 30, 2013
at 10:11 PM

Grey goose is distilled from wheat, not potatoes, though you're correct that Chopin is. Regardless it doesn't matter because either way it has no carbs or grain "ani-nutrients" or gluten.

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!