2

votes

Can I get some honest opinions about the quality of the recipes in Everyday Paleo?

Answered on August 19, 2014
Created October 17, 2011 at 10:33 PM

I just ordered it, but after reading some of the reviews I am considering returning it. Som people are saying the recipes aren't that great, and don't taste very good. I'd like to get some opinions here. Thanks!

Fe87afa634afe26f4f6fd956abe0b46a

(565)

on October 19, 2011
at 12:24 AM

I think it's absolutely fantastic. I have honestly never enjoyed cooking or eating as much as I have since I found Sara's recipes. I made a lot of dishes from her website before getting the book. Give it a fair shot. It has not disappointed me once.

03f5a69fde4012b827ebdb6d93b71e7a

(2007)

on October 18, 2011
at 08:53 PM

Agreed about the red curry beef, that's the big flop I've made from it so far.

Ce7e28769d92d5de5533e775b1de966e

on October 18, 2011
at 12:18 PM

Dood, 90% of my cookbooks are 1969 and older - they.are.the.bestest! And of course I tweak Julia - I'm hoping for a haunting. No! No Facebook! Too busy cooking and causing mischief. You still have to tell me about Seattle trip!

072fd69647b0e765bb4b11532569f16d

(3717)

on October 18, 2011
at 02:10 AM

Or hit Sarah's website and try a few from it. I would think the recipes she posts there would give you a good idea of what's in the book. I've used a few from the website and have always been pleased, but I do tend to prefer simple with few ingredients.

0dbd7154d909b97fe774d1655754f195

(16131)

on October 18, 2011
at 02:06 AM

Effing Julia and all the greats don't take much tinkering to make 'em Paleo awesome. Will you please get on Facebook already????????

Da3d4a6835c0f5256b2ef829b3ba3393

on October 17, 2011
at 10:34 PM

You just ordered it? Why wouldn't you wait for it to arrive and try it out for yourself before returning it or whatever?

  • 1f9d9a9efc2f523b2f09629444632b5c

    asked by

    (10)
  • Views
    1.4K
  • Last Activity
    1430D AGO
Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

14 Answers

5
Ecc6aa6f4a961fbfce510bda4bd84916

(451)

on October 17, 2011
at 11:28 PM

I really like it, but it's not gourmet. The recipes are simple and quick for the most part. I find it to be a fun easy read and the recipes are in no way intimidating or fussy. The flavors are not very complex or refined but the food tastes good and satisfying.

Hope that helped?

<3

2
26166d2f27a57dea221a1417acbdfc2c

(168)

on October 18, 2011
at 08:36 PM

I got it a few days ago. I'm not finding it great, there are maybe two things in it I'd make. I find looking for "normal" recipes that are either paleo anyway, or can be a little bit tweaked are more up my street.

2
219f558c6fb724423033d983cca96d1a

(258)

on October 18, 2011
at 09:52 AM

To be honest I don't really like it. I have tried other recipes from the civilized caveman that I like much more. I find the recipes I've tried are just kind of blah. I tried one a couple of days ago. Red Curry beef and it didn't even taste like curry. Just tasted like blah stew. I've found much better paleo pancake recipes elsewhere too. Sorry, but this cookbook didn't match my taste buds.

03f5a69fde4012b827ebdb6d93b71e7a

(2007)

on October 18, 2011
at 08:53 PM

Agreed about the red curry beef, that's the big flop I've made from it so far.

2
0b75543c87b5ac7c01714d79c1da502c

(245)

on October 17, 2011
at 11:02 PM

Really depends on what you're looking for. I prefer very simple, quick, tasty meals as I'm usually cooking just for me. The recipes in Everyday Paleo fit the bill and are great for a people new to paleo who want some inspiration, especially if you're cooking for a family.

If you're looking for something a bit more fancy, you might want to try Paleo Comfort Food or the new Make it Paleo cookbooks.

I wrote review of both Everyday Paleo and Paleo Comfort Food on my blog. http://ispeakpaleo.com/category/the-horses-mouth/

Jon

1
Ce7e28769d92d5de5533e775b1de966e

on October 17, 2011
at 11:51 PM

For a beginner cook or anyone who needs/wants simple straightforward ideas for dishes and meals I think it's great. I just checked out the site and she's pretty much doing 10-ingredients or less, and shopping will be easy and not expensive. I definitely saw changes that I would make to the recipes that I checked out but that's just me and my preferences. I also don't like following instructions that often and prefer the tweak method :)

If you want to elevate what you're cooking then check out Gourmet online, Bon Appetit, Food & Wine, etc., and make the necessary Paleo adjustments.

Ignore the reviews and check it out - you're the one doing the cooking so you need to see for yourself. I always use the library first before buying a new cookbook - which is rare for me. If I know that I will utilize at least 70% of what is contained within the book then I buy. If only a few are decent? G'bye.

0dbd7154d909b97fe774d1655754f195

(16131)

on October 18, 2011
at 02:06 AM

Effing Julia and all the greats don't take much tinkering to make 'em Paleo awesome. Will you please get on Facebook already????????

Ce7e28769d92d5de5533e775b1de966e

on October 18, 2011
at 12:18 PM

Dood, 90% of my cookbooks are 1969 and older - they.are.the.bestest! And of course I tweak Julia - I'm hoping for a haunting. No! No Facebook! Too busy cooking and causing mischief. You still have to tell me about Seattle trip!

1
13a44ea00b0c9af0b6d0f3d5f5c2cfca

(7223)

on October 17, 2011
at 11:42 PM

I borrowed it from the local library and decided I didn't need to permanently add it to my collection. However, I think it really depends on what kind of recipes you like and how much experience you have with cooking. It's not terrible, but it's definitely not for foodies. I think it is more for people who are new to cooking whole foods. I think it is also geared towards families with tighter budges since there are many, many, many ground beef recipes.

If you are looking for quick, easy, and basic you might like it. If you prefer complex flavors you'll likely be underwhelmed. That said, the few recipes I did try were not bad and a couple were actually pretty good.--which is more than I can say for Paleo Comfort Food. I was seriously disappointed in that one (and unfortunately I bought it because my library didn't have it ordered).

1
Aa69579f867333b08158c70e25f7daf1

(1826)

on October 17, 2011
at 11:41 PM

When you're new to paleo, learning how to combine and manipulate the new "set" of ingredients you'll use on a regular basis is really what you're looking for in cookbooks.

Get 3-4 paleo cookbooks (or get them from the library like we do, so you have more money to spend on food :-) ) and even if you don't follow it completely, it will be helpful in learning how to "build" a paleo meal. Everyday Paleo fits the bill for one of those cookbooks.

Sarah also has kiddos, so her stuff is a good jumping off point if you're also cooking for little ones who may not be totally into curries or other complex flavors.

1
3846a3b61bc9051e4baebdef62e58c52

(18635)

on October 17, 2011
at 10:50 PM

I like it. I'm more of slab of meat and throw on some veges and call it a day type of guy, but why in the world wold you need a cookbook for that right? My wife and kids on the other hand tend to eat more paleo meals when she can get a bit creative with these recipes. All togeather I think if your new to paleo you will pick up some ideas on how to make standard meals into paleo meals. Worth it in my opinion, but I'm no chef.

0
De267f213b375efca5da07890e5efc25

(3747)

on October 19, 2011
at 09:35 PM

Paleo Comfort Foods is much better. It's not bad and I like the complimentary take on some dishes. I didn't return mine. I returned the Primal cookbook though - everything in there is bacon, legumes, eggs, and nightshades.

0
4a585ea8059f71614597a56805cc60c7

(390)

on October 18, 2011
at 02:06 AM

I like it. Perhaps people were expecting things to taste just like their SAD origins? I thought some of the recipes were pretty creative and practical because I had most of it hanging out in my kitchen anyway.

0
Fb67dc30cead043d1d13ea503a3044dc

(3280)

on October 18, 2011
at 01:08 AM

I got it for my mom. She LOOOOOVES it. I heard that the photos aren't great, but my mom doesn't care...she's having a blast cooking from it -- and getting healthy in the process. Win/Win. :)

0
0b17db513e41a80276ba78b0a8ae0dd8

on October 18, 2011
at 01:03 AM

I have tried several of the recipes & liked all of them.

0
306aa57660d911781231f8090c2a5619

(3808)

on October 17, 2011
at 11:39 PM

Different people find different things tasty - there's no one right answer to this. I haven't tried the cookbook, but I'd imagine you could go to the website, try a few recipes, and see if her style works for you.

0
03f5a69fde4012b827ebdb6d93b71e7a

on October 17, 2011
at 11:33 PM

I like it. Great stuff for quick meals that you don't have to think too much about. I've been very happy with all but one of the 8-9 dishes I've made from it so far. I agree with the other comments here so far too.

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!