9

votes

[META] Do we value a diversity of opinions?

Answered on September 12, 2014
Created December 16, 2011 at 8:17 AM

Do we value a diversity of opinions? Will we benefit from varying viewpoints or should we strive for more consistency in thought in our answers and questions on paleohacks?

1a98a40ba8ffdc5aa28d1324d01c6c9f

(20378)

on January 23, 2012
at 04:30 AM

Thanks Cerement! Well said!

1a98a40ba8ffdc5aa28d1324d01c6c9f

(20378)

on January 23, 2012
at 04:29 AM

Thanks Joshua!!!

1a98a40ba8ffdc5aa28d1324d01c6c9f

(20378)

on December 17, 2011
at 03:25 AM

Thanks Quilt!!!

Ed71ab1c75c6a9bd217a599db0a3e117

(25472)

on December 17, 2011
at 03:23 AM

plus one.......for the great simple question.

95eda9fa0cec952b482e869c34a566b6

on December 16, 2011
at 05:40 PM

Nice answer, Bristlebeard.

95eda9fa0cec952b482e869c34a566b6

on December 16, 2011
at 05:40 PM

@Dorado: ' "diversity" for it's own sake is a fetish ' Love it! :-)

1a98a40ba8ffdc5aa28d1324d01c6c9f

(20378)

on December 16, 2011
at 03:51 PM

Well put Quilt!!!

1a98a40ba8ffdc5aa28d1324d01c6c9f

(20378)

on December 16, 2011
at 03:51 PM

Thank You Andy!!!!

Medium avatar

(8239)

on December 16, 2011
at 03:38 PM

Excellent in substance and tone. "diversity" for it's own sake is a fetish; lockstep thinking is dangerous. Follow established fact lines; keep asking questions and stay open to potentially valuable detours.

778b36f4f699f202de135ef176fe9ab7

(1123)

on December 16, 2011
at 12:47 PM

I agree as well. I'm all for getting as much information on the subject as possible, but nothing turns me off more than some hardcore fanatic telling me, "Well, technically, that's not Paleo..." There is no black/white in anything, and especially not in Paleo, in my opinion anyway.

Bf57bcbdc19d4f1728599053acd020ab

(5043)

on December 16, 2011
at 12:36 PM

I agree. Dogma is for dogs. IMHO to be truly "paleo" we'd have to know a lot more than we do about how our ancestors ate, moved, played and thought. In the absence of the DeLorean, we probably do best with some combo of evidence/guesses about ancestral health and current scientific research into optimal modern health. I think remaning open to discussion/interpretation is definitely called for, given that both those areas are prone to error.

082bf04a7486991c5e573a66f1404b3e

(813)

on December 16, 2011
at 10:22 AM

I agree with Eric; if we didn't value diversity of opinions, why would we be here?

1a98a40ba8ffdc5aa28d1324d01c6c9f

(20378)

on December 16, 2011
at 08:30 AM

Thank You BB!!!

1a98a40ba8ffdc5aa28d1324d01c6c9f

(20378)

on December 16, 2011
at 08:29 AM

Thakn You BB!!!

  • 1a98a40ba8ffdc5aa28d1324d01c6c9f

    asked by

    (20378)
  • Views
    1.1K
  • Last Activity
    1407D AGO
Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

5 Answers

best answer

13
Db4ad76f6f307a6f577e175710049172

on December 16, 2011
at 08:25 AM

Striving for consistency for the paleo community is silly. What we should be striving for is a robust discussion of human health, set in an evolutionary framework.

Everyone can interpret information differently, which then leads to different manifestations of "Paleo". Just as everyone is different, everyone's "Paleo" is going to be different.

That said, there's going to be things that are the same, like the avoidance of grains, soy and legumes (although some find rice to be non-damaging). From this we'll have consistency in viewpoints, but this shouldn't be forced.

95eda9fa0cec952b482e869c34a566b6

on December 16, 2011
at 05:40 PM

@Dorado: ' "diversity" for it's own sake is a fetish ' Love it! :-)

1a98a40ba8ffdc5aa28d1324d01c6c9f

(20378)

on December 16, 2011
at 08:30 AM

Thank You BB!!!

778b36f4f699f202de135ef176fe9ab7

(1123)

on December 16, 2011
at 12:47 PM

I agree as well. I'm all for getting as much information on the subject as possible, but nothing turns me off more than some hardcore fanatic telling me, "Well, technically, that's not Paleo..." There is no black/white in anything, and especially not in Paleo, in my opinion anyway.

Medium avatar

(8239)

on December 16, 2011
at 03:38 PM

Excellent in substance and tone. "diversity" for it's own sake is a fetish; lockstep thinking is dangerous. Follow established fact lines; keep asking questions and stay open to potentially valuable detours.

082bf04a7486991c5e573a66f1404b3e

(813)

on December 16, 2011
at 10:22 AM

I agree with Eric; if we didn't value diversity of opinions, why would we be here?

1a98a40ba8ffdc5aa28d1324d01c6c9f

(20378)

on December 16, 2011
at 08:29 AM

Thakn You BB!!!

Bf57bcbdc19d4f1728599053acd020ab

(5043)

on December 16, 2011
at 12:36 PM

I agree. Dogma is for dogs. IMHO to be truly "paleo" we'd have to know a lot more than we do about how our ancestors ate, moved, played and thought. In the absence of the DeLorean, we probably do best with some combo of evidence/guesses about ancestral health and current scientific research into optimal modern health. I think remaning open to discussion/interpretation is definitely called for, given that both those areas are prone to error.

95eda9fa0cec952b482e869c34a566b6

on December 16, 2011
at 05:40 PM

Nice answer, Bristlebeard.

11
Ed71ab1c75c6a9bd217a599db0a3e117

(25472)

on December 16, 2011
at 12:57 PM

Unfortunately there is paleo dogma. What is good for those with an open mind is that we can explore all that paleo has to offer us. There is such a great diversity in this community that the options are never stale. Things only appear to be stale to the closed mind.

We are the embodiment of the information we choose to accept and act upon. To change our circumstances we need to change our thinking and subsequent actions. We should not be captured by any dogma. Dogma is accepting others results by adopting someone else's thoughts. Never allow your mind to be usurped. Life contains no failures, it just contains our experiences and responses to its adversity

1a98a40ba8ffdc5aa28d1324d01c6c9f

(20378)

on December 16, 2011
at 03:51 PM

Well put Quilt!!!

4
Medium avatar

(2923)

on January 22, 2012
at 08:38 PM

One of the things that attracted me to paleo (and PaleoHacks) (and what I see as a MAJOR benefit over the fad diets) is the variety of opinions. That and that, despite the "discussions", there is a strong science basis driving the discussions with consistent, reproducible results. The big names (Sisson, Wolf, Jaminet) are constantly keeping track of ongoing research and are willing to update their conclusions as needs be. We have multiple people from multiple fields of discipline arriving at the same conclusions: no grain, no legume, grass-fed meat, real food. They differ on the details (dairy, starches, ratios, etc.), but that is as it should be, it's an indicator of a mentally healthy community.

1a98a40ba8ffdc5aa28d1324d01c6c9f

(20378)

on January 23, 2012
at 04:30 AM

Thanks Cerement! Well said!

3
246ebf68e35743f62e5e187891b9cba0

(21430)

on January 22, 2012
at 07:57 PM

I did notice upon joining PH awhile back, that there was a general back-and-forth between certain practices (1.0 vs. 3.0, safe-starches vs. low carb, etc) but I see that less and less.

I may have been more sensitive to it because I thrive on low-carb, no supplement, Paleo 1.0... and the folks that thrive on 3.0/phd/archevore are constantly having to battle the folks that are low-carb dogmatics (of which I was one, admittedly).

So now, I will admit my mind has been opened to new concepts in the Paleosphere, and others here seem to have done the same.

1a98a40ba8ffdc5aa28d1324d01c6c9f

(20378)

on January 23, 2012
at 04:29 AM

Thanks Joshua!!!

3
Dfada6fe4982ab3b7557172f20632da8

(5332)

on December 16, 2011
at 10:48 AM

If you try to include everyone, you can end up helping no-one. I think there ought to be better referencing of (or perhaps we need to establish) what the paleo norm when responding to people who don't live permanently on the PH, while also bringing our individual perspectives as opinions. Trying to gain support for your own position by not acknowledging that many people have valid reasons to disagree is not 'valuing diversity'.

1a98a40ba8ffdc5aa28d1324d01c6c9f

(20378)

on December 16, 2011
at 03:51 PM

Thank You Andy!!!!

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!