0

votes

Caffeine and migraines (plus two sources to give your opinion about)

Answered on August 19, 2014
Created February 14, 2013 at 3:58 AM

Hi All,

Looking for connection between caffeine and my migraines, found this book:

The Decaf Diet

Not sure if author links caffeine intake to migraines, but he surely talks about numerous issues related to caffeine in his opinion, like fat gain, insulin sensitivity problem etc.

Did anyone read this book? What is your opinion on it or the whole concept? Caffeine is probably not paleo although I am aware of it's popularity in paleo sphere, especially among low carbers.

PS: found also this website migraines and caffeine, the guy talks about migraines being merely the result of caffeine detox.

E565d18743958b4713f74562f27e3524

(25)

on March 14, 2013
at 12:52 AM

Very possible.... definitely try the magnesium!!

5bac45c78a2be60bc17fc2084a0f5d43

(259)

on February 14, 2013
at 06:54 AM

decaf in title of the book does not mean decaf coffee, i think it means no, or greatly reduced caffeine intake. AFAIK decaf coffee contains significant amount of caffeine.

5bac45c78a2be60bc17fc2084a0f5d43

(259)

on February 14, 2013
at 06:53 AM

interesting part about gut shut down when there is migraine. i wonder if my digestive issues could be due to migraines.

  • 5bac45c78a2be60bc17fc2084a0f5d43

    asked by

    (259)
  • Views
    1.3K
  • Last Activity
    1432D AGO
Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

3 Answers

1
62fafa8cb15af7c562fa8c270f7b6174

on February 14, 2013
at 12:33 PM

I had nasty migraines for a couple years, and haven't had one in a few years now.

I drink 8oz coffee a day, and have wondered if quitting would trigger a migraine. Occasionally, I'll see sparkly auras after a sneeze or something, but never the full blown migraine.

If your caffeine intake maintains blood vessels in a dilated state, removing caffeine may trigger a migraine when all those blood vessels relax. Of course, mycotoxins are now associated with the 'jittery' feeling from coffees, and I would suspect removing those may operate in the same way.

It was explained to me that migraines can be caused by a sudden decrease in vascular tension, relaxation after a period of stress or other factor causing increased vascular tension. For me, it was epinephrine in novicaine at the dentist office. I had a lot of work done over a period of a few years. After the novicaine wore off, I'd get a migraine within a week. I've been asking for epinephrine-free novicaine when needed since I recognized this and haven't had a migraine since. Just my n=1 thoughts.

1
F54a16e4caf4dc8da9ef1369f46a95cd

(591)

on February 14, 2013
at 04:36 AM

Decaf doesn't seem worth it to me. I think it'd be really hard to get good quality decaf coffee. And Dave Asprey says it's toxic: http://www.bulletproofexec.com/podcast-5-transcript-how-to-quantify-fatigue-like-never-before/9/

5bac45c78a2be60bc17fc2084a0f5d43

(259)

on February 14, 2013
at 06:54 AM

decaf in title of the book does not mean decaf coffee, i think it means no, or greatly reduced caffeine intake. AFAIK decaf coffee contains significant amount of caffeine.

0
E565d18743958b4713f74562f27e3524

on February 14, 2013
at 04:23 AM

I also get really bad migraines. I dont know if I can amswer your question 100%, but I know a little bit of caffine is ok. I see a neurologist and he said my one small cup of coffe a day is ok. Many people have a problem with a lot of caffine, or if they are used to a certain amount, reducing that amount or not having your normal dose can both be triggers. Also if you substitute breakfast for coffee you will have problems. Something to be careful of is consistantly taking over the conter headache meds such as excederine. Minimal use is ok but constantly taking it can actually make headaches worse/more frequent. Btw look at the headache med bottle- they contain caffine. If I get desparate enough during a migraine I will sip on a dr. Pepper and it does help. I dont drink pop otherwise. On a side note, if you dont already, start taking a magnesium supplement-liquid is best. My neurologist just explained to me that when you get a migraine your "gut functions" or digestive system basically shut down which means your body will not process meds you take to help a migrsine, because your body is shut down and not functioning properly. I hope that helps!!

5bac45c78a2be60bc17fc2084a0f5d43

(259)

on February 14, 2013
at 06:53 AM

interesting part about gut shut down when there is migraine. i wonder if my digestive issues could be due to migraines.

E565d18743958b4713f74562f27e3524

(25)

on March 14, 2013
at 12:52 AM

Very possible.... definitely try the magnesium!!

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!