0

votes

casein free dairy?

Answered on August 19, 2014
Created July 02, 2013 at 4:35 PM

do all dairy products contain casein?

Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

3 Answers

1
75d65450b6ff0be7b969fb321f1200ac

(2506)

on July 02, 2013
at 04:48 PM

Yes, in general. The only exception I can think of is ghee, which is sort of a casein free butter alternative. I am extremely dairy sensitive and I have no issues with ghee. Anything else that might be labeled as dairy and casein free would be highly processed.

_Lazza

0
13c5a9f1678d75b93f269cdcf69f14d5

(2339)

on July 18, 2013
at 01:48 PM

Ghee is butter that has been clarified to remove the milk solids, water, everything except the fat. All that remains is butter fat. So the French call it "clarified butter" and in India it is known as ghee. Some classic French sauces call for clarified butter. I

It does not require refrigeration and can be stored for years. In India, special batches of ghee are kept for very special occasions, for periods of up to 100 years.

The removed milk solids can be used in dishes by family members who do tolerate casein.

You can make it at home, but I don't think it is cost effective. International markets are one place to shop, but there's tremendous quality/taste variation by brand and it seems to correlate with cost. The Whole Foods brand, Purity, is organic, but I dislike the flavor. If you dislike it, don't assume that you don't like ghee. Try another brand.

Pure Indian Foods ghee is very nice and the absolute best (and priced accordingly) is Ancient Organics.

Grassfed, organic ghee is supposed to a very good source of fat soluble vitamins, including K2, so it is worth the trouble to get some in your diet.

0
A048b66e08306d405986b6c04bf5e8e4

on July 03, 2013
at 10:46 PM

Nop, ghee does not contain caesin

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!