3

votes

Nixtamalized Corn - a Safe Starch?

Answered on August 19, 2014
Created January 01, 2013 at 8:05 AM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nixtamalization

-Increases mineral content -removes hull -removes mycotoxins -breaks down protein into more bioavailable form

Assuming it's organic and non-gmo, do you think this could be considered a safe starch?

Tortilla party?

194d8e8140425057fe06202e1e5822a7

(3979)

on February 13, 2013
at 07:28 PM

Yes, I know. But the question was not "is it relatively safe," but "is it safe".

Ebb10603524dd22621c1155dd7ddf106

(19150)

on February 13, 2013
at 07:20 PM

@raydawg the wikipedia article for CGM says it best "The expression "corn gluten" is colloquial jargon that describes corn proteins that are neither gliadin nor glutenin."

96440612cf0fcf366bf5ad8f776fca84

(19413)

on January 06, 2013
at 02:18 PM

@Stephen, I've no problem with what people want to eat. But perhaps they should be honest with themselves that what they're choosing to eat may not be as optimal. I've made similar choices in regards to coffee. :) To be honest, I happily eat salsa, but I do it with sweet potato chips instead. Sure "Corn Gluten" is not the same protein as wheat gluten, but some Celiacs report the same kinds of negative effects.

Cb9a270955e2c277a02c4a4b5dad10b5

(10989)

on January 06, 2013
at 04:01 AM

Lol all these downvoters don't want you taking away their chips n salsa.

96440612cf0fcf366bf5ad8f776fca84

(19413)

on January 02, 2013
at 11:52 AM

Oh really, then why do these exist? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corn_gluten_meal http://eartheasy.com/article_corn_gluten.htm http://www.hort.iastate.edu/research/gluten http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/glutenfreegrains/f/Is-Corn-Gluten-Free.htm Sure, it's not the same as wheat gluten, but it does cause the same kinds problems in some.

705e66484ed64fe8e188123de398413e

(1013)

on January 02, 2013
at 05:49 AM

Gluten in corn... Nonsense!

E9140ef0ca0a76ea14b9ebccad234608

(615)

on January 01, 2013
at 07:35 PM

Yup i definately agree with the above

Ce41c230e8c2a4295db31aec3ef4b2ab

(32556)

on January 01, 2013
at 05:47 PM

Agreed. I'm gluten intolerant, but have no prob with organic corn tortillas/chips made with properly prepared masa.

Ee6932fe54ad68039a8d5f7a8caa0468

(2668)

on January 01, 2013
at 05:32 PM

hang on a sec, there is no gluten in corn. that's just scientific fact. there may be prolamins that resemble gluten and might trigger cross-reactivity issues for people *with celiac disease* but you're making a big, speculative jump when you say that there's gluten in corn. then you jump off the cliff when you liken it to eating pizza. i don't know exactly how i feel about nixtamalized corn, but a lot of this is over the top.

Bfa1c9eacfc94a1b62f3a39b574480c6

(3700)

on January 01, 2013
at 09:10 AM

If you're craving tacos or burritos and want to use a pure corn tortilla and don't have an adverse reaction to it, go for it.

  • 194d8e8140425057fe06202e1e5822a7

    asked by

    (3979)
  • Views
    3.3K
  • Last Activity
    1280D AGO
Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

3 Answers

1
D41bd7b3d3b962eb0146f471eb632f56

on January 01, 2013
at 10:44 PM

I eat nixtamalized corn as a "safe starch," more than white rice, but not more than potatoes. I'm gluten intolerant and have some problems with a few other gluten-free grains, but corn has never been a problem for me.

I live in Texas, and eating corn makes it a lot easier to have options eating out. I really believe there's a big difference between a traditional tamale made with nixtamalized maize and lard than some frozen, prepackaged, gluten free pizza. It's not for every day, but it does help me enjoy my eating habits with others more.

0
444a352604ab8d0b675f5c6bcdcd24ca

(0)

on February 13, 2013
at 06:22 PM

I looked at all of the posted links above and while something called "corn gluten" does exist, they stated that it is not actually a "gluten" but rather a protein and the term "gluten" was just "colloquial jargon that describes corn proteins that are neither gliadin nor glutenin."

Also worth taking note of is that fact that corn "gluten" is a by-product of corn processing and is used in animal feed...meaning it does NOT end up in human food.

So...there is no gluten in your tortilla chips. While it may not be the most ideal food one could eat, as an occasional treat or splurge, I'd pick it over a wheat-containing product any day.

194d8e8140425057fe06202e1e5822a7

(3979)

on February 13, 2013
at 07:28 PM

Yes, I know. But the question was not "is it relatively safe," but "is it safe".

-2
96440612cf0fcf366bf5ad8f776fca84

(19413)

on January 01, 2013
at 03:35 PM

Only if you want to expose yourself to the gluten in corn. In which case, you may as well eat wheat while you're at it and not bother with the benefits of paleo.

Sorry, but corn is a grain, and it does have the same properties as other grains. Some people are ok with it occasionally, but it's no different than a cheat day where you eat pizza. Unfortunately, gluten is one of those things that our bodies can develop antibodies for, and, can cause leaky guts, and it takes time to heal leaky guts, and upto six months to let go of the antibodies, which can lead to autoimmune disease in the mean time.

I don't know about you, but good health is something I'd rather not give up for tortilla party.

On the other hand, if you had said crazy drunken tequila party, I'd be there in a heartbeat. No gluten there, and good times!

E9140ef0ca0a76ea14b9ebccad234608

(615)

on January 01, 2013
at 07:35 PM

Yup i definately agree with the above

Ee6932fe54ad68039a8d5f7a8caa0468

(2668)

on January 01, 2013
at 05:32 PM

hang on a sec, there is no gluten in corn. that's just scientific fact. there may be prolamins that resemble gluten and might trigger cross-reactivity issues for people *with celiac disease* but you're making a big, speculative jump when you say that there's gluten in corn. then you jump off the cliff when you liken it to eating pizza. i don't know exactly how i feel about nixtamalized corn, but a lot of this is over the top.

96440612cf0fcf366bf5ad8f776fca84

(19413)

on January 02, 2013
at 11:52 AM

Oh really, then why do these exist? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corn_gluten_meal http://eartheasy.com/article_corn_gluten.htm http://www.hort.iastate.edu/research/gluten http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/glutenfreegrains/f/Is-Corn-Gluten-Free.htm Sure, it's not the same as wheat gluten, but it does cause the same kinds problems in some.

705e66484ed64fe8e188123de398413e

(1013)

on January 02, 2013
at 05:49 AM

Gluten in corn... Nonsense!

Ce41c230e8c2a4295db31aec3ef4b2ab

(32556)

on January 01, 2013
at 05:47 PM

Agreed. I'm gluten intolerant, but have no prob with organic corn tortillas/chips made with properly prepared masa.

Cb9a270955e2c277a02c4a4b5dad10b5

(10989)

on January 06, 2013
at 04:01 AM

Lol all these downvoters don't want you taking away their chips n salsa.

96440612cf0fcf366bf5ad8f776fca84

(19413)

on January 06, 2013
at 02:18 PM

@Stephen, I've no problem with what people want to eat. But perhaps they should be honest with themselves that what they're choosing to eat may not be as optimal. I've made similar choices in regards to coffee. :) To be honest, I happily eat salsa, but I do it with sweet potato chips instead. Sure "Corn Gluten" is not the same protein as wheat gluten, but some Celiacs report the same kinds of negative effects.

Ebb10603524dd22621c1155dd7ddf106

(19150)

on February 13, 2013
at 07:20 PM

@raydawg the wikipedia article for CGM says it best "The expression "corn gluten" is colloquial jargon that describes corn proteins that are neither gliadin nor glutenin."

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!