0

votes

Could somebody lactose intolerant eat Raw grass fed goats cheese?

Answered on August 19, 2014
Created April 11, 2013 at 11:41 AM

It seems like the paleo "purist" cheese you can get.

61844af1187e745e09bb394cbd28cf23

(11058)

on April 11, 2013
at 05:13 PM

Correct, Matt, but some people who claim "lactose intolerance" are not actually lactose intolerant, they have an issue with the species proteins, which is my point. I guess I worded it a little strangely at 5AM!

Ebb10603524dd22621c1155dd7ddf106

(19150)

on April 11, 2013
at 02:14 PM

I'm unsure if lactase production in milk is from the mammal it came from (which upon reflection seems unlikely), or from bacteria. But goat's milk has lactase in it and less lactose compared to cow's milk.

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41757)

on April 11, 2013
at 01:59 PM

Milk doesn't contain lactase.

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41757)

on April 11, 2013
at 01:59 PM

Lactose is lactose. Doesn't matter the species source, you are correct about the proteins though, but if dairy intolerance is related to the lactose, it won't matter.

F92e4ca55291c3f3096a3d4d3d854986

(11698)

on April 11, 2013
at 11:56 AM

But it still has lactose in in.

  • 77877f762c40637911396daa19b53094

    asked by

    (78467)
  • Views
    793
  • Last Activity
    1278D AGO
Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

2 Answers

1
Ebb10603524dd22621c1155dd7ddf106

(19150)

on April 11, 2013
at 12:03 PM

It depends on

  • How lactose intolerant they are
  • How much lactose and lactase is in the goat's milk cheese

I'm lactose intolerant, but handle most goat cheese well in small servings. Others may not.

As far as "paleo purist" goes, it's not. Dairy is readily accepted in paleo-land, but I don't think those that eat it extol their virtuous paleo-ness. ;-)

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41757)

on April 11, 2013
at 01:59 PM

Milk doesn't contain lactase.

Ebb10603524dd22621c1155dd7ddf106

(19150)

on April 11, 2013
at 02:14 PM

I'm unsure if lactase production in milk is from the mammal it came from (which upon reflection seems unlikely), or from bacteria. But goat's milk has lactase in it and less lactose compared to cow's milk.

0
61844af1187e745e09bb394cbd28cf23

(11058)

on April 11, 2013
at 12:03 PM

Some people can, some cannot. It will depend on whether or not you react to lactose or the proteins in cow dairy. You will have to decide if the risks are worth the rewards.

32f5749fa6cf7adbeb0b0b031ba82b46

(41757)

on April 11, 2013
at 01:59 PM

Lactose is lactose. Doesn't matter the species source, you are correct about the proteins though, but if dairy intolerance is related to the lactose, it won't matter.

61844af1187e745e09bb394cbd28cf23

(11058)

on April 11, 2013
at 05:13 PM

Correct, Matt, but some people who claim "lactose intolerance" are not actually lactose intolerant, they have an issue with the species proteins, which is my point. I guess I worded it a little strangely at 5AM!

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!