1

votes

Expert opinions needed

Answered on September 12, 2014
Created February 08, 2013 at 8:39 AM

Please can some expert paleos help me?

I have posted twice before about carbohydrates, as reduction in carbs seems to be the only way I can lose weight. I lost 10lbs by doing low carb paleo but I felt constantly ill and horribly anxious, culminating in panic attacks and constant nausea.

Before Christmas I went on a month long carb binge, where I put on 14lbs but had no anxiety or feeling ill.

I have tried to go back to low carb (<50 grams per day) but it induces such bad anxiety, sleeplessness and thudding pulse (cortisol???)that I find I have to eat carbs to feel OK; mostly sweet potatoes before bed on the advice of the book Potatoes not Prozac. I have also started eating full fat yoghurt with blueberries and nuts for breakfast as plain protein (eggs) was giving me nausea. I also thought the yoghurt would help as a probiotic.

My problem is that enough carbs to make me feel OK is enough to make me put on weight. I am overweight by about 21 lbs and gaining.

I am currently walking 40 mins per day in the mornings and weights 1x per week. Ive read about leptin resistance which suggests not exercising in the mornings and eating lots of protein for breakfast. Is this a good idea? I am loathe to try yet another thing without expert advice.

I find eating a lot of protein or acid foods gives me very bad indigestion and nausea, otherwise I would try the sauerkraut etc. for digestive issues.

Can anyone shed any light on what to do? I am getting fatter and fatter!!!

I have had a check with the doctor in case it was a physical/health related problem but nothing was found.

Ive stopped all supplements except Magnesium.

Any suggestions? I'm 47 and female.

Many thanks in advance.

UPDATE After such great advice and encouragement, I decided to try whole 30 and see what happened. Hoorah! I lost 3kg and feel MUCH better. I think the nausea was a reaction to ketosis, and took about 3 weeks to resolve. Im having about 60g carb per day, mostly sweet potatoes but have added more nutrient dense foods, carrots, bone broth etc, as advised. Im planning to keep off the dairy too. Thankyou to everyone who replied, such brilliant advice. I hope this update will be helpful to someone in the same position.

Ed71ab1c75c6a9bd217a599db0a3e117

(25477)

on February 09, 2013
at 12:34 PM

yes it is.......but the source of your problems are there.

F299706618ad5d2c014130cb35d07dcf

(628)

on February 09, 2013
at 01:39 AM

Your welcome. It would be beneficial to get in your weight training before you break your fast on the days that you do weights!

C916f88782de154ebde1d0763bdd341c

(40)

on February 08, 2013
at 07:46 PM

It is much appreciated, thankyou.

1edb06ded9ccf098a4517ca4a7a34ebc

(14952)

on February 08, 2013
at 05:50 PM

Kimberleee- this is the best advice you're going to get.

Ce41c230e8c2a4295db31aec3ef4b2ab

(32556)

on February 08, 2013
at 04:49 PM

What is your D3 level? OK doesn't necessarily equal optimal for good hormone balance. I eat my paté on rice crackers (not Paleo, but pretty benign.) Or celery & carrot sticks, if you prefer.

C916f88782de154ebde1d0763bdd341c

(40)

on February 08, 2013
at 04:32 PM

Thankyou, it is very reassuring to know that I should just stick at it. It has been frustrating to try to eat well and just get fatter. My D3 has been checked and is ok. My sleep has become poorer since starting paleo so I agree its probably some hormonal thing. It improves with regular evening carbs. I eat salmon daily but little cheese and no broth. I will try adding these. I love liver pate but what do you eat it with if there is no crusty brown bread??!

A968087cc1dd66d480749c02e4619ef4

(20436)

on February 08, 2013
at 04:20 PM

Wow. The usual cryptic nonsense without references. Save us Jesus-Jack! Just when I think he's gone off the deep end already, he finds an even bigger pool.

C916f88782de154ebde1d0763bdd341c

(40)

on February 08, 2013
at 04:18 PM

Thankyou, I will read that,I have started but its rather heavy going!

C916f88782de154ebde1d0763bdd341c

(40)

on February 08, 2013
at 04:16 PM

Ha ha, proper experts only please, dragonfly.

C916f88782de154ebde1d0763bdd341c

(40)

on February 08, 2013
at 04:15 PM

Thanks Hannah, I hadn't thought of combining carbs and IF. I could skip breakfast altogether and see how that goes and still have a carby dinner. Hmmmm, thankyou for that, may be worth a try.

4bd4e2fe6a095663f80c69656936e487

(744)

on February 08, 2013
at 02:12 PM

Everyone's an expert on the internet

C916f88782de154ebde1d0763bdd341c

(40)

on February 08, 2013
at 12:17 PM

Thankyou for your response. The reason I wanted some "expert opinion" is that leptin reset diets required a massive protein breakfast of 50g+ of protein. I dont want to eat that unless completely neccessary, so I wanted some advice first. Thanks for your suggestions.

  • C916f88782de154ebde1d0763bdd341c

    asked by

    (40)
  • Views
    840
  • Last Activity
    1257D AGO
Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

4 Answers

best answer

2
Ce41c230e8c2a4295db31aec3ef4b2ab

(32556)

on February 08, 2013
at 04:15 PM

If you only have 21 lbs to lose, I doubt you are leptin-resistant.

I'm imagining your hormones are a bit out of whack and some gentle tweaking will help.

You may want to try focusing on eating nutrient-dense foods like liver pat??, gouda cheese, salmon and bone broth once or twice a week. Like David, I suspect that you are deficient in a few key nutrients and you may also be lowering your calories too much when you go below 50 gm of carbs.

Get your D3 level checked & sun/supplement to a blood level of 60-80 ng/ml. Make sure you are getting good sleep.

I think a more moderate approach would be helpful. No need to go vlc.

Try eating 100 gm of carbs spread out over the day. Make sure to eat your carbs with protein and fat.

Be patient! It can take some time for hormones to balance. I was able to balance mine (I'm 50) over a little less than a year after I went lacto-Paleo.

C916f88782de154ebde1d0763bdd341c

(40)

on February 08, 2013
at 07:46 PM

It is much appreciated, thankyou.

Ce41c230e8c2a4295db31aec3ef4b2ab

(32556)

on February 08, 2013
at 04:49 PM

What is your D3 level? OK doesn't necessarily equal optimal for good hormone balance. I eat my paté on rice crackers (not Paleo, but pretty benign.) Or celery & carrot sticks, if you prefer.

C916f88782de154ebde1d0763bdd341c

(40)

on February 08, 2013
at 04:32 PM

Thankyou, it is very reassuring to know that I should just stick at it. It has been frustrating to try to eat well and just get fatter. My D3 has been checked and is ok. My sleep has become poorer since starting paleo so I agree its probably some hormonal thing. It improves with regular evening carbs. I eat salmon daily but little cheese and no broth. I will try adding these. I love liver pate but what do you eat it with if there is no crusty brown bread??!

1edb06ded9ccf098a4517ca4a7a34ebc

(14952)

on February 08, 2013
at 05:50 PM

Kimberleee- this is the best advice you're going to get.

6
E35e3d76547b18096a59c90029e7e107

(15613)

on February 08, 2013
at 09:43 AM

Perhaps what you need is not just carbs per se but some of the nutrients (potassium, magnesium) commonly found in carbohydrate foods. I would suggest making some carrot soup (boiling a load of carrots, pureeing them, seasoning with herbs/spices/butter iyl). This will give you a modest amount of carbohydrate, but also a lot of nutrients and should be significantly more filling than other sources. I would boil up 1kg or so at a time and eat until you're satiated- you don't need to eat all of it!

It's also possible that you don't do well on dairy, so you might try cutting the yoghurt. You might also want to try out protein sources other than eggs.

You don't need "expert advice" to eat protein for breakfast. It's worth just experimenting

C916f88782de154ebde1d0763bdd341c

(40)

on February 08, 2013
at 12:17 PM

Thankyou for your response. The reason I wanted some "expert opinion" is that leptin reset diets required a massive protein breakfast of 50g+ of protein. I dont want to eat that unless completely neccessary, so I wanted some advice first. Thanks for your suggestions.

1
F299706618ad5d2c014130cb35d07dcf

on February 08, 2013
at 01:59 PM

Sounds like you've been putting some great effort in! Keep up the motivation and you'll get where you want to be in time. I am no expert but I thought I would throw in my two cents. Have you tried intermittent fasting? It may help you get in enough carbs to feel okay and still be keto at times of the day. There are various different proticols out there but this is the one I like the best. http://www.bulletproofexec.com/bulletproof-fasting/

Best of Luck!

Hannah

F299706618ad5d2c014130cb35d07dcf

(628)

on February 09, 2013
at 01:39 AM

Your welcome. It would be beneficial to get in your weight training before you break your fast on the days that you do weights!

C916f88782de154ebde1d0763bdd341c

(40)

on February 08, 2013
at 04:15 PM

Thanks Hannah, I hadn't thought of combining carbs and IF. I could skip breakfast altogether and see how that goes and still have a carby dinner. Hmmmm, thankyou for that, may be worth a try.

-2
Ed71ab1c75c6a9bd217a599db0a3e117

(25477)

on February 08, 2013
at 03:53 PM

http://www.jackkruse.com/emf-4-why-might-you-need-carbs-for-performance/

Most here perceive they need carbs because their molecular clock is broken by their EMF exposure.

Read deeper and you'll understand what is at the source of your problem.

good luck to you in your journey and never give up

C916f88782de154ebde1d0763bdd341c

(40)

on February 08, 2013
at 04:18 PM

Thankyou, I will read that,I have started but its rather heavy going!

A968087cc1dd66d480749c02e4619ef4

(20436)

on February 08, 2013
at 04:20 PM

Wow. The usual cryptic nonsense without references. Save us Jesus-Jack! Just when I think he's gone off the deep end already, he finds an even bigger pool.

Ed71ab1c75c6a9bd217a599db0a3e117

(25477)

on February 09, 2013
at 12:34 PM

yes it is.......but the source of your problems are there.

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!