0

votes

Heard good reviews about pecan butter, but it came out bitter?

Answered on February 20, 2013
Created February 19, 2013 at 11:13 PM

Has anyone tried it before? Tastes subpar compared to almond butter... did I do something wrong in making it? Would not recommend it.

3491e51730101b18724dc57c86601173

(8395)

on February 20, 2013
at 02:11 AM

Wow, it would be hard to skin pecans. Almonds are easy.

77877f762c40637911396daa19b53094

(78467)

on February 19, 2013
at 11:30 PM

Found a good review on nut butters. This guy says its the skins themselves that make it bitter: http://www.cookinglight.com/food/recipe-finder/nut-butter-primer-00400000040041/ "best for recipes" I agree haha I'm going to experiment a bit though :) this is fun, the possibilities are endless!

77877f762c40637911396daa19b53094

(78467)

on February 19, 2013
at 11:28 PM

Alot of people were saying it's "delicious!" but not for me?

77877f762c40637911396daa19b53094

(78467)

on February 19, 2013
at 11:26 PM

I like pecans themselves and I was eating some from the batch before I ground it up and they tasted fine... Idk what happened! The food processor was clean too... is it just me or is the pecan butter: taste pecan butter and then taste almond butter and then compare

77877f762c40637911396daa19b53094

(78467)

on February 19, 2013
at 11:25 PM

I like pecans themselves and I was eating some from the batch before I ground it up and they tasted fine... Idk what happened! The food processor was clean too... is it just me or is the pecan butter: taste pecan and then taste almonds and then compare

77877f762c40637911396daa19b53094

(78467)

on February 19, 2013
at 11:24 PM

Yeah, just wondering if anyone else had this problem? Could it have been pesticides on the pecans causing it or something (cannot buy organic in my area plus, too expensive!)? Or is this just typical?

  • 77877f762c40637911396daa19b53094

    asked by

    (78467)
  • Views
    1.6K
  • Last Activity
    1971D AGO
Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

3 Answers

0
33266cca338ab54cee9a2aa160f5bdb6

on February 20, 2013
at 05:50 AM

Living in Texas right now so I eat A TON of wild pecans. The trick is just making sure that all of the brown powder/inner bits of the nut are COMPLETELY removed, assuming you are cracking them yourself. If you do that(or if these are pre-shelled) there should not be any significant bitter flavor. If there is then I would guess it's your taste buds or you just have some overly bitter pecans. I have never eaten a roasted pecan before so I don't know how that would change the sweetness.

0
90bcfafd2ef73fea5398c483c593349e

on February 20, 2013
at 05:20 AM

Did you over-toast the nuts? Pecans are rather dark, so you may not have noticed burned skins. Also, I find that when dumping my nuts out of a container and onto my cookie sheet to roast, tiny little nut crumbs and flakes of nut skin from the bottom of the bag wind up on the cookie sheet and burn before the nuts are even toasted. To avoid this problem I suggest dumping your raw nuts into a colander and shaking it around so all the crumbs and skin flakes fall out.

0
Ed7403e397077dd1acdbf25c7f6e56ce

on February 19, 2013
at 11:20 PM

Pecans are much drier than almonds. Maybe go half & half and decrease the almonds as you acquire a taste for them. Also, you could add a little honey or maple.

77877f762c40637911396daa19b53094

(78467)

on February 19, 2013
at 11:26 PM

I like pecans themselves and I was eating some from the batch before I ground it up and they tasted fine... Idk what happened! The food processor was clean too... is it just me or is the pecan butter: taste pecan butter and then taste almond butter and then compare

77877f762c40637911396daa19b53094

(78467)

on February 19, 2013
at 11:24 PM

Yeah, just wondering if anyone else had this problem? Could it have been pesticides on the pecans causing it or something (cannot buy organic in my area plus, too expensive!)? Or is this just typical?

77877f762c40637911396daa19b53094

(78467)

on February 19, 2013
at 11:30 PM

Found a good review on nut butters. This guy says its the skins themselves that make it bitter: http://www.cookinglight.com/food/recipe-finder/nut-butter-primer-00400000040041/ "best for recipes" I agree haha I'm going to experiment a bit though :) this is fun, the possibilities are endless!

3491e51730101b18724dc57c86601173

(8395)

on February 20, 2013
at 02:11 AM

Wow, it would be hard to skin pecans. Almonds are easy.

77877f762c40637911396daa19b53094

(78467)

on February 19, 2013
at 11:25 PM

I like pecans themselves and I was eating some from the batch before I ground it up and they tasted fine... Idk what happened! The food processor was clean too... is it just me or is the pecan butter: taste pecan and then taste almonds and then compare

77877f762c40637911396daa19b53094

(78467)

on February 19, 2013
at 11:28 PM

Alot of people were saying it's "delicious!" but not for me?

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!