1

votes

Can you give your opinion/review on Art De Vany's new book "The New Evolution Diet"?

Answered on August 19, 2014
Created December 29, 2010 at 8:28 PM

Hi everybody,

if you have read this book already, could you let us know your opinion about it or give us a review?

I've already read the Primal Blueprint and The Paleo Solution and I wonder if t's worth to get this book.

Thank you!

26f1c6e9fbecc4ac6948f8f395979a81

(503)

on January 08, 2011
at 01:37 AM

Sorry, in his latest book he says to limit yourself to 2 or 3 meals a day with no snacking. I guess I interpreted that as three meals a day.

034c678bff434ab3781e3f1771018af9

(279)

on January 07, 2011
at 08:58 PM

One minor correction. Art isn't into three meals a day necessarily. He's a major proponent of changing things up wrt meal times and amounts as well as doing intermittent fasting.

4ff24fb9a7d48305681487dfb8040a5e

(383)

on December 31, 2010
at 03:43 AM

Good luck for your forum. Try to advertise it more to gain some members.

B3c62d89cd47b7d7209b6a99243d0ded

(10778)

on December 30, 2010
at 01:15 AM

I understand about the desire to disassociate... And i think 'paleo' as a group might be approaching the limits described in http://shirky.com/writings/group_enemy.html

4ff24fb9a7d48305681487dfb8040a5e

(383)

on December 30, 2010
at 12:42 AM

Oh, part of accepting the answer is the thorough review on Melissa's blog, see comments in the question section

4ff24fb9a7d48305681487dfb8040a5e

(383)

on December 30, 2010
at 12:41 AM

Great answer, great song ;-)

4ff24fb9a7d48305681487dfb8040a5e

(383)

on December 30, 2010
at 12:38 AM

Thanks everyone for their answers. I'm going to pass on this book ;-)

B22e5946e28a1845a6006737e59edfc6

(2437)

on December 29, 2010
at 11:23 PM

Just read your review Melissa. I like how you pointed out a counter to the "we haven't changed argument." I saw Art say "we haven't changed in 40,000 yrs" on the YouTube video for his book. White people didn't even exist 40,000 yrs ago! Asians only came about 10,000 yrs before that. Blue eyes are only 6,000 yrs old. I was looking at pale, blonde Art thinking "you certainly wouldnt have existed 40,000 yrs ago."

B22e5946e28a1845a6006737e59edfc6

(2437)

on December 29, 2010
at 11:13 PM

Just read your review Melissa. I like how you pointed out a counter to the "we haven't changed arguement." I saw Art say "we haven't changed in 40,000 yrs" on the YouTube video for his book. White people didn't even exist 40,000 yrs ago! Asians only came about 10,000 yrs before that. Blue eyes are only 6,000 yrs old. I was looking at paleo, blonde Art wondering what he was talking about.

B22e5946e28a1845a6006737e59edfc6

(2437)

on December 29, 2010
at 10:51 PM

I agree with this. Also Paleo first started out basically saying "hey as much as we try we can't break down the optimal diet for humans just through science. We've been trying to do this for 60 yrs and the result was nutritionism and poor health. Let's just see what humans did for 190,000 yrs and copy that. The closer we get to copying our design through diet, sleep, sun, community, etc..te healthier we become." I feel that the movement is quickly going away from this and more towards a diet system you can buy for 3 easy payments of $19.95

66e6b190e62fb3bcf42d4c60801c7bf6

(12407)

on December 29, 2010
at 10:43 PM

that was such a great album.

1471beca8e3adff4ae2f89d10e5f7acb

(6550)

on December 29, 2010
at 08:33 PM

Our own Melissa McEwen wrote a pretty shocking review: http://huntgatherlove.com/content/two-philosophies

  • 4ff24fb9a7d48305681487dfb8040a5e

    asked by

    (383)
  • Views
    3K
  • Last Activity
    1428D AGO
Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

7 Answers

best answer

9
9d43f6873107e17ca4d1a5055aa7a2ad

on December 29, 2010
at 09:23 PM

I'm really not a fan and it pains me to say that because he was one of the people who got me into eating better. The exercise chapters are good, but the food advice is silly enough that I can't recommend it at all. Art has been mad at me for what I said for awhile now and while he's admitted in his blog that he acceded to some editorial pressure for politically correct nutritionism, he still is arguing with me about whether or not fat makes you fat. Not only that, but he's passed on his displeasure to me primarily through rude comments on my blog and through third parties.

It's badly written too and the footnotes are nearly half the book! I suspect the editors let him include those after he agreed to let them neuter the book, since some of them contradict the text of the book.

I refuse to be part of the "paleo boyz club" if it involves supporting every paleo book published. I've been disappointed at certain other authors who have done this. I'm moving towards disassociating from paleo because of this whole fiasco. I've already "gotten in trouble" for my thoughts and that makes me sad. I'm not going to apologize.

;) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pojL_35QlSI

B22e5946e28a1845a6006737e59edfc6

(2437)

on December 29, 2010
at 11:23 PM

Just read your review Melissa. I like how you pointed out a counter to the "we haven't changed argument." I saw Art say "we haven't changed in 40,000 yrs" on the YouTube video for his book. White people didn't even exist 40,000 yrs ago! Asians only came about 10,000 yrs before that. Blue eyes are only 6,000 yrs old. I was looking at pale, blonde Art thinking "you certainly wouldnt have existed 40,000 yrs ago."

4ff24fb9a7d48305681487dfb8040a5e

(383)

on December 30, 2010
at 12:42 AM

Oh, part of accepting the answer is the thorough review on Melissa's blog, see comments in the question section

4ff24fb9a7d48305681487dfb8040a5e

(383)

on December 30, 2010
at 12:41 AM

Great answer, great song ;-)

B22e5946e28a1845a6006737e59edfc6

(2437)

on December 29, 2010
at 11:13 PM

Just read your review Melissa. I like how you pointed out a counter to the "we haven't changed arguement." I saw Art say "we haven't changed in 40,000 yrs" on the YouTube video for his book. White people didn't even exist 40,000 yrs ago! Asians only came about 10,000 yrs before that. Blue eyes are only 6,000 yrs old. I was looking at paleo, blonde Art wondering what he was talking about.

B22e5946e28a1845a6006737e59edfc6

(2437)

on December 29, 2010
at 10:51 PM

I agree with this. Also Paleo first started out basically saying "hey as much as we try we can't break down the optimal diet for humans just through science. We've been trying to do this for 60 yrs and the result was nutritionism and poor health. Let's just see what humans did for 190,000 yrs and copy that. The closer we get to copying our design through diet, sleep, sun, community, etc..te healthier we become." I feel that the movement is quickly going away from this and more towards a diet system you can buy for 3 easy payments of $19.95

66e6b190e62fb3bcf42d4c60801c7bf6

(12407)

on December 29, 2010
at 10:43 PM

that was such a great album.

B3c62d89cd47b7d7209b6a99243d0ded

(10778)

on December 30, 2010
at 01:15 AM

I understand about the desire to disassociate... And i think 'paleo' as a group might be approaching the limits described in http://shirky.com/writings/group_enemy.html

5
26f1c6e9fbecc4ac6948f8f395979a81

(503)

on December 29, 2010
at 10:34 PM

The New Evolution Diet isn't as "friendly" as some of the other great works out like The Paleo Solution or Primal Blueprint. De Vany is more concerned about telling the reader what great shape he's in and how his testosterone level is off the charts. (Seriously, how many times did he mention that?)

De Vany takes a far more stringent and restrictive view of what is considered "paleo." For example, he excludes parsnips, turnips and beets as being starchy tubers. He also removes bananas because they're too high in carbs. (Yet doesn't mention grapes which also have a relatively high GI.) He also holds to three meals a day with no snacking.

Part of what attracted me to Paleo is that most proponents take the "pain and suffering" out of eating and add the joy back into what should be a great event. It shouldn't be as rigid as De Vany proposes as it makes this just another "diet" as opposed to a lifestyle change.

26f1c6e9fbecc4ac6948f8f395979a81

(503)

on January 08, 2011
at 01:37 AM

Sorry, in his latest book he says to limit yourself to 2 or 3 meals a day with no snacking. I guess I interpreted that as three meals a day.

034c678bff434ab3781e3f1771018af9

(279)

on January 07, 2011
at 08:58 PM

One minor correction. Art isn't into three meals a day necessarily. He's a major proponent of changing things up wrt meal times and amounts as well as doing intermittent fasting.

4
Cab7e4ef73c5d7d7a77e1c3d7f5773a1

(7304)

on December 29, 2010
at 09:55 PM

I would just like to add that at a certain point these books become redundant. Once you know the basics, there is very little extra that you couldn't find online yourself. I did like the perfect health diet however, and I thought it was more "sciency" and informative than the others I have read.

4
Fd504de9b242f4cd7009db70af5e2121

(558)

on December 29, 2010
at 09:42 PM

the term "paleo"and diet are fast approaching the ramp about to jump the shark

1
211d4075d68b24cd0aa7ebfa94262bb9

on December 29, 2010
at 11:24 PM

Isn't he the guy that claims that he, despite being a not particularly tall (6'1") 72-year-old white guy, can almost slam dunk a basketball? I'm calling bullshit on that.

I've also read interviews where he claims that eating celery boost testosterone. I'm pretty sure that's bullshit as well.

I think he also claims that he hasn't gotten sick in 20 years.

1
4781cf8ae1bfcb558dfb056af17bea94

(4359)

on December 29, 2010
at 09:15 PM

Read Melissa's review -- pretty good explanation of why this book sucks

0
C61399790c6531a0af344ab0c40048f1

on December 30, 2010
at 10:54 AM

I haven't read the Devany book yet but have it on pre-order - don't think it is out in the UK yet - so this isn't really an answer but would love to read lots of comments about it. As an avid bookworm (and English teacher) I read as many books as possible and always end up with loads of questions about them. I've got one to post about How Cooking Made us Human actually. It seems there have been quite a few questions about books lately and whilst this is a fantastic site for asking specific questions it seems to me that what we need is a specific book discussion board - where people can just bounce ideas about on the books that they are currently reading - science books, diet books, even novels. So to that end I have just set up a discussion board at http://www.thepaleobookshelf.proboards.com/ This is the first time I've ever done anything like this so please be gentle! And please post reviews and discussions about any books that you have read. I have tried to start a few off.

4ff24fb9a7d48305681487dfb8040a5e

(383)

on December 31, 2010
at 03:43 AM

Good luck for your forum. Try to advertise it more to gain some members.

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!