0

votes

Does the casein component change in non-A2 yogurt?

Answered on August 19, 2014
Created September 07, 2012 at 6:59 AM

I'm new to the Paleo diet and at the stage of being ready to test new foods. I already know I can't have milk because I've previously been on a milk and gluten-free diet and tested these things.

I don't have a lactose intolerance which means it's probably the casein in the milk.

I'm talking about milk (or yogurt made with milk) that is not A2 as that's cheaper so I wouldn't be using A2 milk for the sake of having milk. I'd rather go without.

I know that the lactose component changes with homemade yogurt (enabling some lactose intolerant people to eat yogurt made from a culture) so I was wondering if the casein component changes with homemade yogurt made from a culture (enabling a casein intolerent person to eat yogurt).

I haven't been able to find out on the internet. It's easy enough to test that particular food but's it's an effort to make yogurt from a culture so I would like to know if possible. Besides it's interesting to know the reason behind the logic.

If anyone knows the answer to my question or if it's possible to find out from a scientific viewpoint I would like to find this out.

Thanks! :-)

Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

3 Answers

1
B6114a1980b1481fb18206064f3f4a4f

(3924)

on September 07, 2012
at 09:04 PM

Casein molecules do slightly change their molecular structure as they clump in the culturing process to form a solid yogurt as opposed to a liquid milk. It's still casein, however, and if you are sensitive or allergic to casein, I'd avoid it.

0
C9391df3ee50112b820eb0868b05c8fa

on August 30, 2013
at 02:47 AM

As others have said, it's still got casein in it. I know from eating Cheestrings when I shouldn't have. I can have A2 milk on those rare occasions I can locate it, though (it's always sold out so quickly), so I eat buffalo mozzarella a lot.

0
96440612cf0fcf366bf5ad8f776fca84

(19463)

on September 07, 2012
at 10:18 AM

Sorry, no the fermentation only consumes the lactic acid. The casein proteins remain the same. (I've got the same issue as you). Best you can do is switch to goat milk and make yogurt yourself from it.

Or if you have a dairy farm near you and you're sure you know what kind of casein the milk has, you can use that milk instead, but it's really hard to tell, and as different cows get switched in and out, that may change. If the farm mixes all the milk up, as do CAFO milk producers, you're guaranteed to get the wrong kind of casein.

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!