0

votes

kind of an odd question. is denatured alcohol gluten-free?

Answered on August 19, 2014
Created January 10, 2013 at 11:33 PM

i can't find a definitive answer using google. is the denatured alcohol found in stuff like palmolive dish soap and cascade action pacs gluten-free?

61844af1187e745e09bb394cbd28cf23

(11058)

on January 17, 2013
at 03:52 AM

Of course. It's ethyl alcohol with a poison added.

383127951e2e17f23b584cd3842bb796

(835)

on January 11, 2013
at 03:23 AM

is it distilled?

194d8e8140425057fe06202e1e5822a7

(3979)

on January 11, 2013
at 12:23 AM

"Denatured" alcohol is just alcohol that has had poisons added to it so that people won't drink it.

  • 383127951e2e17f23b584cd3842bb796

    asked by

    (835)
  • Views
    2.6K
  • Last Activity
    1432D AGO
Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

2 Answers

1
52d493763a23e2b14854533600846a67

on January 11, 2013
at 04:35 AM

Probability of gluten depends on which grain was fermented to get the alcohol. Usually methanol is added to make it unfit to drink. I would bet that gluten content would be in the parts per million range, would worry much more about the poison qualities than gluten content.

0
61844af1187e745e09bb394cbd28cf23

(11058)

on January 11, 2013
at 02:07 AM

Denatured alcohol is made from grain alcohol, so not necessarily.

383127951e2e17f23b584cd3842bb796

(835)

on January 11, 2013
at 03:23 AM

is it distilled?

61844af1187e745e09bb394cbd28cf23

(11058)

on January 17, 2013
at 03:52 AM

Of course. It's ethyl alcohol with a poison added.

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!