0

votes

Are "spices" in spice mixes gluten free?

Answered on August 19, 2014
Created December 20, 2012 at 4:38 AM

There's a line of spices that I'm interested in at the supermarket that doesn't explicitly say it's gluten free. It lists a few things I recognize that seem ok like salt and a few spices but then just lists "spices". I don't know why they listed some and then lumped everything else into that broad category. Do you think there's anything to worry about in there?

E36cb992cf0a5eba8b97a359c15f38b3

(4347)

on December 20, 2012
at 05:04 PM

The issues is that it's not always gluten added to the spices, but that spices are sometimes ground on equipment used for gluten-containing products or are in a room where flour is flying around. Some hypersensitive celiacs/gluten-sensitive folks are sensitive to cross-contamination such as this. Additionally, some spice mixes contain wheat, etc., as anti-caking agents or thickening (in the case of, say, taco seasoning).

3ce6a0d24be025e2f2af534545bdd1d7

(26207)

on December 20, 2012
at 12:38 PM

are you gluten sensitive or do you have celiac's?

  • De267f213b375efca5da07890e5efc25

    asked by

    (3747)
  • Views
    1K
  • Last Activity
    709D AGO
Frontpage book

Get FREE instant access to our Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!

3 Answers

1
3ce6a0d24be025e2f2af534545bdd1d7

(26207)

on December 20, 2012
at 12:41 PM

IMO, Don't buy spices that have more than one ingredient.

You want a rub, make it yourself.

Spices that are premixed are almost universally crap -- left over, old spices they mix together to bleed another nickel out of the consumer.

Also, Spices with "salt" as an ingredient (assuming it's not salt) are always crap. It's cheap crappy salt, they always over salt it. I'd rather add my own salt.

Personally, I'd stay away on principal, not because of gluten.

1
00cd3b6f51530a6832fcda1712edbec3

(2411)

on December 20, 2012
at 10:23 AM

If the vendor isn't telling anyone what it's spices are, then how can anyone in this community advise you whether these unknown spices contain gluten? Try looking at the package to see if there's a website or an email address you can use to communicate with the distributor/vendor to get an answer to your question.

0
5f678ffff153bfc8a17ac1ee438c054f

on December 20, 2012
at 04:53 AM

I would think that is safe, since gluten-containing things never really contribute to flavor, so they wouldn't be labeled as "spices".

And even if there was a small amount, considering how little anyone uses a particular spice at a time, there wouldn't be enough for a reaction.

E36cb992cf0a5eba8b97a359c15f38b3

(4347)

on December 20, 2012
at 05:04 PM

The issues is that it's not always gluten added to the spices, but that spices are sometimes ground on equipment used for gluten-containing products or are in a room where flour is flying around. Some hypersensitive celiacs/gluten-sensitive folks are sensitive to cross-contamination such as this. Additionally, some spice mixes contain wheat, etc., as anti-caking agents or thickening (in the case of, say, taco seasoning).

Answer Question


Get FREE instant access to our
Paleo For Beginners Guide & 15 FREE Recipes!