Gluten-Free Oats & Granola

by (248)
Answered on August 19, 2014
Created May 11, 2010 at 3:02 PM

What's the rule of thumb when it comes to gluten free oats and granola? Would these items be considered paleo? The brands I saw were made with "brown rice flour". I wouldn't consume too much of these either way, but I am just wondering if they are an option for those practicing modern paleo.

6157 · May 11, 2010 at 7:46 PM

What would be the benefit of eating these in the first place?

  • Total Views
  • Recent Activity
  • Last Activity
    464D AGO
  • Followers

Get Free Paleo Recipes Instantly

2 Answers

best answer

13978 · May 11, 2010 at 3:44 PM

Grains are grains. It's not just the gluten content you have to be worried about; it's also the insulin effect on your body. Also, granola is usually make with some sort of sweet something - whether sugar, or honey, or molasses, or maple syrup. And that too will have a negative effect on your insulin.

But, if you're going to consume grains, the best time is in the morning when you wake up or after a workout. And if you do choose to consume grains, you should soak them in an acid medium for eight (8) hours or more to reduce the phytic acid and anti-nutrient content.

All in all, it's best to avoid both of these foods. If you have to have them, learn how to make your own soaked versions. This recipe for kishk granola uses rapadura, but you can leave that out. If you're going to have oats, soak them in milk (or lemon juice and water) overnight before eating them in the morning.

1595 · May 11, 2010 at 3:54 PM

Their your thumbs, so do what you like. My rule is no grains of any kind. And when that rule needs to be broken, I might eat some white rice. :-)

Answer Question

Sign in to Your PaleoHacks Account

Get Free Paleo Recipes